"Activator" in settings app?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mrat93, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. mrat93 macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #1
    There's a new settings pane mixed in with my Cydia apps' settings named "Activator." I have no package installed with that name. It contains a bunch of gestures, and that's it. Any idea on how to use this? Or how it got installed?
     
  2. Baggy Spandex macrumors 6502

    Baggy Spandex

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    #2
    Have proswitcher installed?

    Usually activator is tagged along with another package to switch around activation methods.
     
  3. mrat93 thread starter macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #3
    I used to have it installed, but then I uninstalled it. It seems pretty useful. How do I use it?
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    Humm..... if you don't know how to use it, how could you determine it's pretty useful. :confused:
     
  5. mrat93 thread starter macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #5
    Well by the looks of it, it looks like I can use a bunch of gestures to perform certain tasks. I'm just not sure how to assign these gestures to do certain things.
     
  6. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #6
    Both ProSwitcher and Overboard use the LibActivator gestures which you see in the Activator settings. Not sure where the hooks into that app are located.
     
  7. vemulasri macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #7
    I do not know how it got installed? But, it is a great app to use. Here are some of the things you can do with it. It works the same way as one of the setting that comes with the default settings. Say you double press home button it can take you to phone favorites or Ipod.

    Activator takes it to another level and gives you option to enable any other application like open "Cydia" app when you double press home button. I have set some of the settings as swipe on the bottom to open "App Store" and swipe from bottom right open "Contacts" and shake the phone to open "Camera" app from any where.

    You can even chose some system settings from lockscreen.

    Thanks
    Sri
     
  8. globalist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #8
    I have uninstalled Proswitcher but I still have this Activator in my settings. I even disabled the mobile substrate extension Activator in Rock to no avail (only place I can see it installed).

    How do I get rid of this crap?
     
  9. Tu13es macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #9
    Uninstall libactivator in Cydia.
     
  10. bripab007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #10
    It's not crap. It's a nice, centralized framework for gestures made by the guy who's done other, well-known and highly-regarded jailbreak apps. Several other apps use it for invocation methods.
     
  11. globalist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #11
    Yeah it's just that it should have been uninstalled along with Proswitcher as its dependency which it wasn't.
     
  12. FastangV6 macrumors regular

    FastangV6

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #12
    I started noticing the activator framework on my phone after I installed cydgets.... Not sure if it's related or I just noticed it at the same time. But I have activator now and have never had proswitcher or overboard installed. I did have kirikae installed before, so perhaps it was installed along with kirikae?
     
  13. daveb1983 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
  14. Junlee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #14
    Custom activator menu

    I have a question here, i installed the activator and it is working fine and i like it,
    but i just add a custom menu in, but i found that the menu i add in is not using, but i couldn't delete it, i couldn't find a way to delete it, any help ?
     
  15. Nanook macrumors regular

    Nanook

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    LA, CA
    #15
    Do you have SBSettings installed? I noticed Activator was installed with that. Maybe SBS uses Activator for the swipe across the menu bar.

    And Activator is one of my top JB apps. Makes up for the lack of buttons letting me have all kinds of shortcuts to perform actions, such as launch apps. I use it to even unlock with a double click on Home, so I never have to swipe to unlock again. It is certainly not crap.
     
  16. ydvshvm97 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Location:
    In the heart of india,and used to in Minnesota
    #16
    I love it, makes life simpler

    activator u can select in the system setting, and then click on anywhere and then one of the options, like *shake* and what action it performs i selected Lock Screen.and likewise you can do with the other actions, its simple. and useful as shortcuts :) :apple: :apple:
     
  17. cheesyappleuser macrumors 6502a

    cheesyappleuser

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Portugal
    #17
    Yes it's a quite useful app.

    It allows you to open any app by gestures.

    But it's sad this is one of the best JB apps.
    Although I'm not even close a programmer, it seems like a simple app to me.
     

Share This Page