Active X

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by austinfd, Jul 18, 2007.

  1. austinfd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #1
    I live in South Korea, where our favorite computers are second class citizens. Many Korean websites use Active X controls, and thanks to Apple, I am protected form all the nasty things that could happen to my computer through active x.

    However, there are some important sites I would like to be able read from home on my MacBook.... like the Seoul Bus route planner.... that I assume don't display in any of my browsers due to lack of active x support....

    So what's a guy to do?! Am I limited to using my computer at work, or is there a workaround?

    HELP!
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I'd give Crossover Mac + IE6 a try. Failing that Parallels and then Boot Camp.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    I'd suggest crossover as the first solution also. I've heard about this before. I'm really surprised that developers are still using ActiveX. But then Korea is very different from the US or Europe in that broadband internet and web-capable computers exploded very, very quickly, in the days when IE was the dominant browser, much more quickly than they ever did here.

    Here's the website:

    http://www.codeweavers.com/products/cxmac/

    MSIE 6 is known to work well on Crossover; 7 may also work. You must purchase Crossover, but you do not need to purchase Windows.

    Alternatively, if you can inexpensively get Windows XP, you can just purchase VMWare or Parallels and run Windows in its entirety, as stated. I'd say that if you have low cost access to Windows, that's a better option, since it offers compatibility with more things. :)
     
  4. austinfd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #4
    ALRIGHT!

    That works beautifully....slow...but still working!
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    The good thing is that CrossOver Mac has a demo so it gives you a lot of time to try it out. I've found the only issue I had with CrossOver and IE6 was plug-ins. (Flash, Java, etc...) How much RAM do you have in your MacBook? You might want to max it out if your already haven't.
     
  6. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    Active-X really works fully on CrossOver with IE-6?

    That is excellent!! :cool:
     

Share This Page