Activity Monitor Process Check? & best memory prices?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by CBGFilms, May 11, 2011.

  1. CBGFilms macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #1
    Got my new iMac the other day (mid-2011 model), migrated my files from a time machine backup and ass is well.

    Just a little concerned about some of my processes, when I have all my programs open, but idling my activity monitor shows this http://d.pr/YLVS, should 'mds' be taking up this much virtual memory? And can you see anything else out of the ordinary in there?

    Applications that are open but idling are... Google Chrome, Twitter, Adium, Finder window, Mail, iTunes and EyeTV. I have dual screens so these always remain open, I also have Droplr, and Day One in the menu bar at the top right.

    Also, I'm in the UK and looking for an extra 8GB of memory, wheres the cheapest/best? Crucial seems okay.

    Thanks! :D
     
  2. fivenotrump macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Central England
    #2
    Low amount of page outs, and a decent amount of free memory = good.
    Crucial are first class in my experience.
     
  3. MyFakeAcc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #3
    Virtual Memory != Physical Memory (and mds is spotlight btw. ;))
    VM shows basically the size of loaded things like libraries used by the program.
    At the lower end of the picture you see "VM Size: >160GB" cause the size of the libraries each program loaded is just added even though they may use the very same library.
     
  4. winty03 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #4
    +2

    First class CS and memory that has been flawless!
     
  5. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #5
    You dont *need* more ram. But its cheap.

    This is a sign that you need more ram: [​IMG]

    heres what Im running with 4 gigs of ram on a 2.4 C2D

    [​IMG]
     
  6. fivenotrump macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Central England
    #6
    I had a module that failed a couple of years ago: it was replaced at top speed
     
  7. Jon the hat macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I ordered 2x4Gb from Crucial last Friday at 3pm.

    It arrived on Satruday morning at 9.30. Nice.
     
  8. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #8
    I agree with Badger. You, like the vast majority, don't need any extra RAM.

    However, got some more if it makes you feel better :)
     

Share This Page