Activity Monitor

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jazzer15, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. jazzer15 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #1
    How do I use Activity Monitor to determine if my CPU useage and System memory is OK? That is, how much Memory should be free and what numbers should I be looking at in the CPU tab to determine if it looks good? I notice that the % idle under the CPU tab jumps around to as low as about 38% - 50% idle even when nothing is running to speak of.
     
  2. Angelo95210 macrumors 6502a

    Angelo95210

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #2
    Can you please post a screenshot of your Activity Monitor ?
     
  3. jazzer15 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #3
    Sure, but as a Mac and forum newbie can you please let me know how to do that -- both take the screen shot and attach it to a post? Sorry - I'm sure I'll get up to speed soon :).
     
  4. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    CMD+Shift+4

    then press space and mouse click on the Activity monitor window. To attach a file in the Rely to Thread' page, there is a small paperclip above where you can eneter text. Click here and navigate to your desktop where the screenshot should be stored.
     
  5. jazzer15 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #5
    Thank you. Here are shots of the CPU and system memory screens. I had Safari and Numbers open (because I had forgotten to close it).
     

    Attached Files:

  6. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #6
    I'm puzzled by the fact that your total cpu usage is about 50% rather than about 100%. Also by the page outs on your System Memory summary. What type of iMac is this, and what OS?
     
  7. jazzer15 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #7
    It's a new/refurbished i7 2.8 ghz running 10.6.4 OS X. CPU usage seems to bounce around.
     
  8. jazzer15 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #8
    I've been doing some looking around and found the following thread.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=848116

    This seems like the same behavior I am experiencing. As long as I am actually doing something, the CPU usage seems pretty accurate most of the time. It's only if I am truly idle that it bounces around and usually settles around 50%.

    I've seen a few other threads citing similar issues.
     
  9. Asylum Design macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #9
    That's kinda weird...

    Mine...
     

    Attached Files:

  10. jazzer15 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #10
    Hmm. Do you have the same computer as me?

    Is this something I should have checked out? It does seem like it may be just a glitch with the Activity Monitor, but I'm not sure if it is common.

    As I'm typing this and watching the Monitor it has gone up as high as 99.83% and as low as 37.25%, but seems to stay around 50% most of the time. If I open a program or while I was doing my first Time Machine backup yesterday it was up closer to 100%. When I was watching a youtube video it continuously read 93% and more.
     
  11. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Is it affecting the performance of the machine? If it is then get someone to take a look at it. If not, then I wouldn't worry.
     
  12. jazzer15 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #12
    I agree with you, but I haven't had the computer long and it's a little difficult to know if it is affecting performance because I don't have anything to compare it against except a 6 1/2 year old PC that I was replacing. Most of what I have been doing so far involves the internet and it actually seems a little slower than my old machine, but of course that has more to do with internet speed and the browser than the processor.

    It's a new machine and I guess the tendency is to look for problems, but I am trying not to make too much out of little things -- it's very easy to do when reading about all of the issues that people raise on the forums. At the same time I would like to be able to check and make sure everything is working as it should.
     
  13. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Create a new user account and see if the problems exist within the new.
     
  14. jazzer15 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #14
    I downloaded the widget for iStat which shows the idle % at or near a constant 100%. I have to assume it's a bug in Activity Monitor. I just don't understand why other people are not reporting it.
     

Share This Page