Resolved Activity not filling rings

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by griffith_500, Jan 15, 2017.

  1. griffith_500, Jan 15, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2017

    griffith_500 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #1
    Have a strange issue with a bike ride that did apparently not transfer correctly from Strava. As can be seen in the screen shots activity calories and training minutes are all showing up correctly the Health app but don't fill the rings (not even in the Health app itself).

    I have deleted the activity manually and had Health reimport it but nothing changes. It always worked previously with Strava activities and I haven't changed any settings as far as I'm aware.

    Any ideas anybody? Thanks!

    IMG_1132.jpg IMG_1131.jpg IMG_1130.jpg
     
  2. Julien, Jan 15, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2017

    Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    Nothing completely unusual since 3ed party apps are notorious for not playing nicely (and inconstancy) with the Activity app. Also by deleting this insures it will never show up in the Activity app since there is NO way to manually add to the Activity app.

    *My method wouldn't work for you since I use a Garmin separate and then import to Strava (segregated from iOS/wOS). However if you this is what I would do.

    • Disconnect Strava and keep it's info segregated from iOS/wOS
    • Run the Workout app on Outdoor Cycle/Outdoor Run on your :apple:Watch
    • Run Strava on your iPhone and use as your primary source for biking/running activities records
    This will also give you a 'backup' method of recording your activity.

    *Primarily run and do the following:

    • Activity app on my :apple:Watch
    • Garmin 620 (on 'other' wrist) also running Live Track app
    • Nike+ NRC on my iPhone
    when biking I leave off Nike+ NRC

    I then import Garmin data to Strava, RunKeeper, Fitdigits and RunGap. This way I will leave behind extensive records of my activities that no one will care about.:eek::D
     
  3. griffith_500, Jan 15, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2017

    griffith_500 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #3
    Hi Julien, thanks for your answer.

    Some additional information:
    I don't carry my watch for biking activities. Strava auto-imports my activities either from my Garmin or from Zwift if it's an indoor activity. Also, I don't use the Strava phone app for recording activities as it greatly exaggerates the elevation.

    It's really strange as it worked flawlessly for hundreds of Strava activities before, the only thing that happens frequently (and is well documented in the Strava forum) is that activities are sometimes imported twice or three times but that is easily corrected by manually deleting them.

    Also, when I said that when I deleted the activity, I re-uploaded the file to Strava and then the Health app imported it again as shown in the screen shots. The Health app also shows 139 training minutes (not visible in the screen shots) but they just don't populate the rings.

    IMG_1133.jpg
     
  4. griffith_500 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #4
    Update: Must have been an issue on Apple's servers... A couple of minutes ago the rings populated without any intervention from my side... So it's all good now...:)

    IMG_1134.jpg
     

Share This Page