Ad Blocks and iOS 10

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by Xenden, Jul 25, 2016.

  1. Xenden macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    #1
    None of my ad blockers are working, anyone else having this issue?

    Assuming that it'll be fixed by the fall, but just wanted to check if it was a problem others are having.
     
  2. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #2
    Turn whatever content blocker you're using off and then turn it back on. I had to do that with Crystal back in the developer beta 1. It's been fine since in beta 2 and 3.

    I don't know if it's still the case (sounds like you have multiple content blockers running?) but isn't it better to just run one and not have a bunch running, conflicting with each other.
     
  3. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    Thats what worked for me.
     
  4. cmeisenzahl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #4
    I've noticed that as well. Every couple weeks whatever ad-blocker I use tops working. I toggle it off, then back on, and it's good again. No idea what is happening but I've definitely seen that behavior several times.
     
  5. Xenden, Jul 27, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2016

    Xenden thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    #5
    Hmm, should have tried this before I made this thread, but I had to uninstall and reinstall to get them working again.

    Edit:

    Interestingly enough, this didn't work on my iPhone, but it did on my iPad Pro.

    Anyone have any suggestions as to why it worked on one and not the other?
     
  6. Am3r1ca16 macrumors 6502a

    Am3r1ca16

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    #6
    OP which adblocker are you using? I'm using purify and sometimes I see ads. Turning it on and off doesn't seems to fix it. I'm using an iPhone 6s plus
     
  7. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    I'm using Blockr and I'm having the same issues. It gives an error when i try to update the filters.
     
  8. Sleaka J macrumors regular

    Sleaka J

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    #8
    I'm using Adguard on my iPad mini 4, it stays on all the time and I don't get errors updating the filters.
     
  9. Xenden thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    #9
    I've tried a variety of blockers, one at a time of course.

    Purify
    Crystal
    BlockBear
    Content Blocker+
    1Blocker
     
  10. Gonky macrumors regular

    Gonky

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Location:
    UK

Share This Page