Add Google Voice to Apple ID for use with iMessage?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MBHockey, Feb 9, 2014.

  1. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I was able to add my Google Voice number to my Apple ID but neither my iPhone nor iMessage on my MBA show it as available to receive at or start conversations from.

    Is there some inherent incompatibility with Google Voice numbers and AppleIDs/iMessage?
     
  2. rmhop81 macrumors 68020

    rmhop81

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #2
    It's a forwarding service not a real phone number
     
  3. MBHockey thread starter macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
  4. rmhop81 macrumors 68020

    rmhop81

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #4
    U would have to add your real phone number. Google voice is just a forward service. What's wrong with using ur real phone number and attaching your appleid to it?
     
  5. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #5
    http://support.apple.com/kb/ts2755
    Your GV account is not an iPhone, iPad or iPod touch -- it's on Google's servers. I understand why one might overlook this but your GV number is tied to your GV account and GV on your device syncs with your GV account. Your device does not use SMS to send/receive text messages via GV.

    Google would have to provide iMessage integration on their end.
     
  6. C DM macrumors Sandy Bridge

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #6
    I believe at least Sprint in US allows (or allowed) to use your actual phone number (that would be associated with your iPhone from your carrier) as your Google Voice number as well...it sounds like it would work in that case (but that's a somewhat limited population).
     
  7. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #7
    It might be worth mentioning that Google does have a Google Voice "app" for iOS that lets you send/receive texts through that. I use that for my Google Voice number, and iMessage for my phone's number and iMessages.
     
  8. awgneo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    #8
    I've had success with this!

    Before I ported my number to GV, I had it attached to my iPhone and was using iMessage, as normal. After I completed a port of this number to GB, I got a new phone with a new number, which I also added to iMessage.

    Now, both numbers (the ported and the new number) are in my iMessage "pool" and I can send and receive iMessages just fine to and from both numbers. I think you have to set up iMessage once against Apple's servers with an iOS device, and then it is good to go, even if that number moves around, as long as it stays in your iMessage pool.

    Who knows, it might die some day, but it has been working for a month now.
     
  9. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #9
    I sure hope iOS 8 lets you send and recieve texts through and calls through at least other iOS devices...that would be SO handy to be able to text from my iPad through my phone to other people.

    You can do that now IF the other person has iOS, but otherwise not. (Although if I could I'd force every Android owner to switch to iOS and Windows Phone)
     
  10. ZombiePete macrumors 68020

    ZombiePete

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #10
    I'm pretty sure that was one of the continuity features that they talked about; SMS messages now show up on iMessages in Mac or iPad...
     
  11. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #11
    Nice! Thanks. That's genuinely useful for me.

    I wish all that stuff would sync to Windows too, but I'm not counting on that (even though obviously there's no technical reason for it). But still, will be legitimately useful even if I can get it on my iPad.
     
  12. MacClueless macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    #12
    I bet you could port your Google Voice number to an actual phone, register it with iMessage, then port it BACK to Google Voice?

    Best of both worlds?
     
  13. ifest macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    #13
    Long shot but does this still works? Hoping to find out so I don't have to test this. TIA.


     
  14. timeconsumer macrumors 68000

    timeconsumer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Portland
    #14
    For me it did not work. I ported my old number (about two weeks ago) to GV and then got a new number on that same iPhone from Verizon. But when I look at the "Send & Receive" section under Messages, it only shows my new number. I was curious how this would work as well but in my recent experience it did not work.
     
  15. ifest macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    #15
    Thanks. Trying to use imessage with google voice using a freedompop data only sim (no phone number).

    Ideas?

     
  16. DipDog3 macrumors 65816

    DipDog3

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    #16
    You need to use a different iPhone for the new number. If you use the same iPhone, it will overwrite the old number.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 28, 2018 ---
    What number are you trying to use? Even data only SIMs have a phone number.
     
  17. HobeSoundDarryl, Jun 28, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2018

    HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 604

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #17
    OK. This topic intrigued me so I just did a little testing...

    I recently migrated a land line through Tmobile on an old iPhone and then on to Google Voice (GV). Since the number was in an iPhone for a day or two, the number showed up as a send/receive option in Messages. Then, I moved it on to GV, set up with an obihai device and now have free land-line-like phone service!!! All good there... even surprisingly good!

    Messages send/receive options still show the number even though it is now "at" GV for about its third week or so. I switched "start new conversations from" that number and tried a test text to someone with an iPhone. It worked. Tried sending some random emoji. They went too. Then tried a picture and it went too. Confirmed receipts of all 3 with no issues.

    I only did this landline-Tmobile (via iPhone)-GV migration in the last couple of weeks, so maybe some Messages server still sees some kind of valid phone number at Tmobile (???) leading this to ultimately fail at some point. But for now, it works fine (and I'm actually surprised it IS working in Messages).

    Key Note: I did not get a new number for that iPhone. In other words, I just used an old iPhone to facilitate the migration from land line to GV (because that seems to require going through a mobile phone to make it to GV). So there's no confusion about Messages working with a new iPhone number because I don't have one. The number is definitely "at" GV, as I've used it many times now for both calls from and to it via that obihai device... and in the Hangouts app.

    I'm just surprised that this worked and wonder if it will keep working beyond some point where maybe a Tmobile server interacts with an iCloud server conveying that Tmobile is no longer providing iPhone service. I can imagine maybe a monthly process where discontinued iPhone service updates might be shared with Apple to squash using Messages this way. But, if so, texts still work just as well with the Hangouts app, so that can be the fall back option if some iCloud bell does toll at some point.

    Key Note #2: I see some people saying that they don't have the number in their send/receive options. I wonder if a necessary step is like a ping? In other words, WHILE a phone number is actually on an iPhone, text at least 1 message from and/or to it- as I did- and THEN migrate it on to GV. Maybe Apple's servers need one valid text from a new iPhone number to verify it as an official iPhone number??? And then, even if it moves on to GV, maybe Messages/iCloud no longer "cares" (or perhaps catches it later)?
     
  18. HobeSoundDarryl, Jul 31, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2018

    HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 604

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #18
    Update
    After the (original) landline -> T-Mobile (for a few days) -> GV number worked fine in Messages for a few weeks, there came a point where the option to use it in Messages just vanished... implying- as surmised- that there is some process of sharing between carriers and Apple to let Apple know a number (plan) is no longer in effect (even if the phone number itself is still live (now) at GV).

    Texts TO the number that were appearing in Messages also ceased, now landing in the Google Hangouts app instead.

    So it seems there is an information-sharing arrangement with carriers.

    And, while the GV-migrated number worked just fine in Messages for a few weeks, I guess the deal requires the money to flow to keep a number associated. Apparently there is no technical obstacle to a GV-hosted number working as a Messages number... probably just a policy.... probably hooked to the exchange of some money or part of the overall financial deal with carriers. Too bad. It worked great within Messages while Apple servers thought I was giving fees to T-Mobile.

    Hello Hangouts as THE texting app with a completely free "plan" and number hosted by GV.
     

Share This Page