Add space to Bootcamp's Windows partition??

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by J'n'Tprod., Nov 14, 2008.

  1. J'n'Tprod. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys. I'm happy to say this is my first post, and I'm looking forward to some (hopefully) useful info.! So I've been using bootcamp for a while now, and my windows partition has worked great. I mainly use windows on my G5 iMac to play counterstrike (fun as hell) but lately ****'s been ****ing up on my windows side of things. I'm pretty sure it's because I'm out of space on my windows partition, and I want to add more space - without having to completely reinstall bootcamp!! Something's telling me this is the only option, but I don't want to have to put the effort in reinstalling the application. Any suggestions?? THanks! :apple:
     
  2. zachsilvey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    Battle Ground
    #2
    you don't have a g5 imac, you have an intel imac.

    i don't know if this works i've never tried it but have you tried using disk utility to resize the partitions, i have done this with two hfs partitions, and I don't know what would stop it from working for you

    note that if your boot camp partition is fat32 formatted the maximum size is 32gbs.
     
  3. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #3
    If you resize ANY partition on the drive that has the bootcamp partition - it's going to @($t twinkies. I'd advise against it. Your best bet, is to backup everything on the windows side before doing any re-sizing or anything like.

    OR - buy yourself an external drive, and format it for FAT32 and use it between both OS's. You CAN do other formats - but NTFS requires 3'rd party drivers for OSX to be able to read/write to it. (and vice-versa if you want HFS on Windows)

    Another option is to acquire Parallels (or VMware) Since I got parallels over a year ago, I've trashed bootcamp. Only worth keeping around if you need it for gaming.
     
  4. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #4
    Along the lines of Big-TDI-Guy's recommendations, if you don't want to use another drive or Parallels/VmWare Fusion give up on trying to resize partitions with Disk Utility right away.

    First off, Disk Utility will not give you an option to resize the BootCamp partition at all, even on a drive where it will allow you resize the OSX partition- SO if you don't want to use one the suggestions made above:

    1. First use Winclone to back up your existing Windows installation fully as a disk image (be sure to check out the FAQs on the site regarding notes about restoring the image to a partition with a different size than the original before continuing)

    2. Rerun the Boot Camp Assistant and use the option to restore your Mac disk to a single partition thus wiping off the BootCamp partition- and remember nothing is perfect so a backup of your OSX partition is highly advised for safety

    3. Use the BootCamp Assistant again to set up a new BootCamp partition of whatever size and proceed to restore the disk image from Winclone as per their instructions
     
  5. bob2131 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #5
    cant i just use bootcamp to increase the partition size, and then restore the clone via winclone?

    i have a windows clone winclone file on my macbook.
    the drive is only formatted for extended journalled. i did not partition it.
    i only erased.

    now.
    do i use bootcamp to make the partition and then winclone restore?

    or do i just use winclone to restore?

    thanks.
     
  6. bob2131 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #6
    problem problem problem

    tried restoring winclone said no partition created.
    so then i created a partition with bootcamp.
    and it defaulted to ms dos fat32.
    then i tried to restore winclone, said error. check log.... i think it said something about wrong partition format....cant remember... basically couldnt restore.

    why does bootcamp default making the partition to fat32?

    i thought winclone would sort out the file partition.

    ive just deleted the bootcamp partition now.

    will i have to start again and make 2 partitions with disc utility?

    but apple site and mac rumors guide say to NOT make partition with disc utility..... and to let bootcamp do it......

    im confused.

    please help.

    SORRY SORRY SORRY
    chose the wrong destination.
    just successfully cloned it....winclone made the fat32 partition into NTFS like my old windows clone.
    just gonna test it now.
     
  7. blomman007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    #7
    hello, I read this thread becasue I too wanted to make more space on my bootcamp.
    I used the aplication winclone, to make a copy of it and then used bootcamp to delete the current version I had of windows so I could recreate it with more space.
    I am having problems with recreating the new boot camp. After Ive chosen how mutch space I want to dedicate a massage pops up:

    The hard disk can not be partitioned because some files can not be moved.

    Back up your hard drive and format it as a single volume in Mac OS Extended (Journaled) using Disk Utlity. Re-create the inforamtion on the hard disk and try using Boot Camp Assistant again
    (sorry if its not very good, but I used google translate to change it from Swedish to English to get it more acurate)

    I'm not very good with disk utility but I have looked around and as I can se, there is only one drive. And the only option I have that is in any way similar is to ad another disk. plz help
     

Share This Page