Add SSD to 2008 Mac Pro & Partitions

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Jigga Beef, Apr 17, 2016.

  1. Jigga Beef macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    Philadelphia, Pa
    #1
    Hello all

    I have just purchased a 1TB SSD hard drive. My plan is to replace my main HD which currently sits in bay 1.

    I have the 3.5 adapter as well so everything should work out getting the drive in

    However i currently have

    20GBs Partitioned to run Windows 10 on that Main drive.


    When i clone my current main HD over to the new SSD does CCC keep the partition in tact. And or can you even have a partition on a SSD.


    I originally tried installing Windows 10 on my HDD in bay 2 however it wouldn't get me run windows unless the partition was installed on my Boot HD.


    Any help is greatly appreciated. TIA
     
  2. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #2
    1. Yes, SSDs can be partitioned.
    2. No, I don't believe Carbon Copy Cloner will clone bootcamp partitions.
    3. It is possible to install bootcamp on another drive.

    You can use WinClone to aid in cloning your Windows partition. Another option would be to keep using your current drive for Windows.

    If your old hard drive capacity is less than or equal to your SSD, I'm pretty sure you can also use Terminal command dd to clone the entire drive.
     
  3. Jigga Beef thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    Philadelphia, Pa
    #3



    Great news!

    Its the exact same size. I was planning on using CCC to clone the entire drive to the new SSD. I guess best bet would be

    -Partition the drive for Windows 10

    -Clone OS X and everything else to the Mac partition

    -Reinstall or use WinClone to clone the windows partition over the the new SSD.
     
  4. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY

Share This Page