added RAM...now using a lot?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by anh123, Oct 10, 2008.

  1. anh123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #1
    Hi there,

    So I just upgraded my early 2008 MBP from the standard 2GB of RAM to 4GB with Kingston memory. Well, the installation was successful and the correct amount of RAM now appears in the profiler, but when I check watch activity monitor, it says that I'm using 1.5 GB of it for the tasks that used to use about 500MB. This is basically Firefox, Activity Monitor, and the Finder open. I maxed out my 2GB when I use my music apps like Finale or my virtual machine, so I thought an upgrade would be good. Is this normal to see this hike?
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Yes programs will allocate more RAM when there is more; when another program needs RAM, the former program will give up the RAM it doesn't need.
     
  3. anh123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
  4. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #4
    If you're running virtualization (Parallels, Vmware or Sun Box) you will be pleased with four gigabytes of memory.
     

Share This Page