Adding 2GB RAM to Macbook Air 1.1

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by htorbov, Jul 15, 2014.

  1. htorbov macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    #1
    Hello,

    I've just brought Apple Macbook Air 1.1 (Core 2 Duo L7500, 1.6 Ghz, 13.3").
    It will arrive tomorrow morning.

    It have 2GB RAM Memory, and I wish to switch it with 4GB, or just add another 2GB.

    The reason is that I want to re-install with Mavericks, which will load slowly on 2GB (I think).

    Is it possible?

    Thanks!
     
  2. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Unfortunately, no MacBook Airs have the ability for users to upgrade the RAM. It's all soldered on the motherboard.

    Sorry about that!
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    You can't the ram is soldered onto the logic board. Sorry :(
     
  4. htorbov thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    #4
    Well, I'll still enjoy the Macbook :) I'll try to install Mavericks on it, maybe it will go smoothly. Thank you guys!
     
  5. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #5
    OS X 10.7 Lion is the best that model can run. It uses EFI32 so can't boot the 64-bit kernel without hacking.

    If you do get Mavericks running with a boot loader (Tiamo's or Chameleon) then the next hurdle will be the Intel GMA X3100 graphics which doesn't have a 64-bit driver for Mavericks.
     
  6. htorbov, Jul 15, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2014

    htorbov thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    #6
    Aah, the graphic card is 32-bit, right... Well, then I'll stick with OS X Lion. It's still a nice graphic OS.

    BTW, Can I upgrade the hard drive to SSD?
    Here are the full details of it:
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo L7500 1.6 GHz, 4 MB L2
    RAM: 2 GB DDR2 667 MHz
    DISPLAY: 13.3" (33,78 см) 1280x800 Glossy
    SVGA: Intel GMA x3100 144 MB
    HDD: 80 GB Samsung
    1x USB 2.0, Sound, Micro-DVI, Bluetooth
    Wireless Wi-Fi, WEB CAMERA
     
  7. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Yes, you should be able to upgrade the hard drive with a little bit of technical nous. Just follow this guide here.
     
  8. htorbov thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    #8
    Thanks alot for the useful video! I'll now remove the hard drive and go get an SSD one to change it.
     
  9. BrettApple macrumors 65816

    BrettApple

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Heart of the midwest
    #9
    Do note the MBA 1,1 uses a ZIF PATA drive. So you'll either need a ZIF SSD (OWC has them), or some sort of adapter like ZIF to MSATA for use with an MSATA SSD.

    It's very similar to the drives and adapter the iPod 5/5.5/Classic uses.
     
  10. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #11
  11. htorbov thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014

Share This Page