Adding A New Menu Item to Right Mouse Click

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by toddzrx, Apr 12, 2015.

  1. toddzrx macrumors 6502a

    toddzrx

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #1
    I've been combing the web for a couple hours now and no dice.

    What I want to do is add a new item to the right click menu when I do a right mouse click on the desktop; i.e., when "Finder" is the selected app. The item I'm interested in adding is to simply open a new Finder window.

    Yes I know there is a keyboard shortcut to open a new finder window, but being a longtime mouse user I find it intuitive to right click on the desktop, hoping to see "New Finder Window" (right above or below "New Folder") to open a new Finder window but it's not there.

    Is this possible?
     
  2. randomgeeza macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    In the time it has taken you to research and not find much about your preferred method of opening a new Finder window, you could have practiced the CMD-N keyboard shortcut. In fact you would have mastered it by now...

    IAH, there possibly is a way, but the shortcut is by far a lot easier.

    Good luck though. ;)
     
  3. Slix macrumors 6502a

    Slix

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #3
    I agree with what randomgeeza said, but in case you want other alternatives involving the mouse, you could click on the Finder icon in the dock, or press the File menu item for New Finder Window, both of which open a new window.
     
  4. toddzrx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    toddzrx

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #4
    :rolleyes: No need to talk down, and I'm fully aware of the many different ways to bring up a new Finder window. The fact is I'm interested enough in OS X to see if I can modify the Finder/desktop context menu in the manner I'd like. I just don't know if there is a way to do it or not.
     
  5. Slix macrumors 6502a

    Slix

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #5
    I wasn't trying to talk down, just trying to help. :)

    Could you create a Automator Service for it? I'm not sure, but that may get what you want for adding right click menu items.
     

Share This Page