Resolved Adding a Printer

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by chattahoochee, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. chattahoochee, Jan 8, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2013

    chattahoochee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Location:
    Palmetto Florida
    #1
    Cannot install printer, the screen shows: "Click Add (+) to add printer. What does this mean ? Where is "Add"
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Did you click the plus sign? "+"
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Plug the printer into the USB port then click that + symbol and you will get an add printer box popup.
     
  4. chattahoochee thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Location:
    Palmetto Florida
    #4
    I go to "System Preference", "Print & Fax", click + and it goes back to System Preference.
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    Are you logged in on an admin or standard account?
     
  6. chattahoochee thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Location:
    Palmetto Florida
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Sounds like maybe that pref pane file is corrupt. On Mountain Lion if I click the + then select add printer I get the below box to select the printer from.

    What OS version are you on? If Lion or Mountain Lion, do a command-r boot and reinstall the OS. That should fix the broken pref pane.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. chattahoochee thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Location:
    Palmetto Florida
    #8
    As far as I can tell, I have X10.6.8 Snow Leopard. I just finished repairing the HD with first aid. This is a 2006 MacBook upgraded to 10.6.8
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    If you have the Snow Leopard DVD, you might try a reinstall. It does sound like that pref pane is corrupt. From what I recall from Snow Leopard it worked just like I described in my post about Mountain Lion.
     
  10. chattahoochee thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Location:
    Palmetto Florida
    #10
    I don't have a Snow Leopard CD, I purchased this Mac as is. It's a 2006 MacBook A1181, It has been upgraded to X10.6.8. now, if I have to reinstall an OS, what would you recomend ? Do I stay with Snow Leopaed or go to Mountain Lion ?
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    The maximum OS your MacBook will support is Lion 10.7.5. It will not support ML. You can buy a retail copy of Snow Leopard.
     

Share This Page