Adding a SSD to MacBook Pro (early 2011)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mjohansen, Oct 19, 2014.

1. mjohansen macrumors regular

Hey

I have a MacBook Pro 13", early 2011, 2,3 GHz Intel Core i5 with a normal HDD. It might not have a fast gfx card, but the worst part of it, is that it is incredible slow when starting apps and feels unresponsive.

I am considering adding a SSD (256gb) to fix the issue - will it help?

What kind of performance improvements am I going to see?

I have no idea which SSD fits the MacBook Pro, so can anyone give me some guidance?

Is it easy to replace the HDD with a SSD or will I need help from a Apple certified dealer?

2. medienlampe macrumors newbie

Hi!

An SSD is indeed very helpful and will enhance boot time, starting of apps and overall responsiveness. It's like night and day. I've been using a Samsung 830 SSD in my 15" Early 2011 since two years.

As far as I'm concerned the Samsung 840-Series is fitting your needs and also quite affordable.

The replacement is fairly simple - you have two choices:
    1. Simply replace your HDD with a SSD (Guide here)
    2. Replace your HDD with a SSD an replace your SuperDrive with your HDD (Guide here)

Since I am from Germany, I used the hardwrk-Kit containing all necessary parts and tools.

3. mattjohnson78 macrumors member

I have the Early 2011 MacBook Pro and I upgraded it. Here is what I did:

1. Changed out the RAM, went from stock 4gb to 8gb.
    2. Changed out the stock 750gb HHD to a Samsung 840 Pro 128gb SSD. Went with the smaller drive since I store everything in the cloud and use iTunes Match, which saved me over 30gb of space. I might take out the optical drive and add a SSD there.

After all this the computer is so much faster and smoother than before. Well worth the money and the computer can go a few more years, but I do plan to pick up a new MacBook Pro Retina when the new Broadwell chips come out.

4. Fishrrman macrumors G3

OP wrote above: