Adding an Audio File To a Site

CubaTBird

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Apr 18, 2004
Okay, this may sound an uber n00b web question to ask but im new to this whole web site creation thing...

anyway.. myself and a friend are working on a site together and what not.. its a work in progress at the moment, thing is.. we want to make it so the minute a user accesses the site, music starts playing... specifically an mp3... its small, only at 2 megs so it would be fast to get the site up and running under a broadband connection... so how do i get it up and running? i have seen it where a quicktime thing would pop up and start playing the song in the background and the user can control the volume or skip around.. thats what we want... if it can be done with wmp that would be great too as most pc users have wmp and what not..

:eek:

18thTomorrow

macrumors 6502
Apr 5, 2004
The Alpha Quadrant
generally using sound in web medium is frowned upon. I find it extremely annoying when a website starts playing music unannounced and unasked.

Why? because I might be listening to something else. Or I may not like the music it's playing. Your taste isn't my taste. and 2MB is still rather large.

Just be careful. Music can drive people away if they don't like it.

CubaTBird

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Apr 18, 2004
18thTomorrow said:
generally using sound in web medium is frowned upon. I find it extremely annoying when a website starts playing music unannounced and unasked.

Why? because I might be listening to something else. Or I may not like the music it's playing. Your taste isn't my taste. and 2MB is still rather large.

Just be careful. Music can drive people away if they don't like it.
yeah i know... but like i have seen it where like a quicktime controller pops up and u can play or stop the music... and what not.. like how do i do that.. is there html code for that?

dornoforpyros

macrumors 68040
Oct 19, 2004
Calgary, AB
auto playing 2mb mp3?

don't do it
Don't Do It