Adding an SSD disk in the free superdrive bay

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CC88, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. CC88 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #1
    Hi there.

    I own a MacPro 1.1 with a boot SSD disk and 3 striping 7200rpm raid.

    So all the four bay drive are off.

    Is there any chance to install another SSD disk in the free superdrive slot?

    How to do that? Any guide?

    Regards.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Mac Pro 1,1 uses PATA SuperDrives so adding an SSD there isn't that wise as PATA has maximum bandwidth of 133MB/s while most SSDs have +250MB/s. You could kill your RAID 0 and put one of the HDs in the SuperDrive bay and then put SSD in empty HD bay as an HD won't take that big performance hit from the PATA interface (you will need an adapter though).

    Someone else should be able to show you what peripherals you need etc
     
  3. Honumaui macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #4
    two extra SATA ports on the MB easy to jump off and then use those ?
    just run Y adapters for the power in the optical bay ?

    I liked that setup actually cause you could have two optical and 6 SATA ?
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Nah, SATA can't be split as each device gets its own channel. There are port multipliers but OP is better off with a PCIe SATA card (better compatibility and much faster).

    IMO the best option is to buy an eSATA PCIe card and 2.5" eSATA enclosure and use the SSD externally or break the RAID and use one of the HDs externally (even FW800 is fine)
     
  5. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    All pre 2009 Mac Pro's have two spare SATA parts that can be used for the ODD bay.
     
  6. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #7
    What if you have both optical drives full (two optical disk drives) and all four drive bays full (Three 1TB HDs and one SSD) what are you options for installing additional internal drives?
     
  7. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    You can add 4 additional 2.5" drives in the PCIe section with a custom drive sled.
     
  8. neckarb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #9
    I've just done this!

    I just installed my SSD in the optical drive bay, behind the bottom optical drive, I ran a SATA cable up from the additional ports on the motherboard, I needed to install a Blu-Ray drive, so running the SATA cables up made sense, then just got a power adapter... easy as pie..
     
  9. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #10
    There are 2 unused SATA ports in the 1,1. Why not use those?
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Wasn't aware of those ;) :p If there are two extra ports that can easily be used, then definitely use them!
     
  11. CC88 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #12
    that's fine :)

    so I have to find them.
     
  12. curvephotograph macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #13
    Does the 2010 macpro also have limited bandwith in the lower optical bay like the 1.1? I installed my ssd there on mine, should I move it to one of the other bays?
     
  13. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    No, all 6 SATA ports provide the same speed (full 3Gb/s SATA II).
     
  14. troutweed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    #16
    Where are the extra SATA ports physically located in the 1.1?

    What "power-adaptor" is required to run an SSD in the Optical bay?

    Will a straight sata-sata cable work, or does it need a right-angled one or something weird?
     
  15. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #17

    The ports are located behind the PCIe fan cover.

    Take a look at tear down manuals for your Mac Pro and watch videos which explain how to disassemble it. OWC has a video online: Click

    For powering the SSD, you'd need a Molex to SATA adapter. As you can see, they come in different forms, pick the one which suits you the best.

    The cable doesn't have to be angled, a straight one is ok.
     
  16. troutweed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia

Share This Page