Adding external SATA hard drive caddy to MacPro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Maxinterax, May 1, 2011.

  1. Maxinterax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #1
    Hi
    I would like to add an external SATA caddy to my MacPro but cannot find the SATA cabling. Is there easy access to the cables? Shall I just use a Firewire Caddy instead.

    thanks
    Max
     
  2. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    What product are you using for the SATA connections?

    I ask, as an eSATA card usually comes with the necessary cables. If you've an older machine with ODD_SATA ports, and are trying to run those externally via a PCI bracket with a pair of eSATA ports (not the best way to go due to limitations), you can get the cables off of eBay (here) or other locations.
     
  3. Maxinterax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #3
    Thank you for replying.
    I have a MacPro which is just over a year old. I hoped to put a caddy in the spare optical drive slot, but the front of the MacPro only has a thin opening.

    So, I decided to obtain an external caddy and connect using SATA cable, but then opening the MacPro and could not see where to connect the SATA cables.

    I have finally decided on a firewire/USB caddy:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2-5-3-5-inch-...rdDrives_RL&hash=item230ae5158d#ht_3427wt_907

    Still, I am open to advice,
    thanks
    again,
    Max

     
  4. Maxinterax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #4
    Actually found a firewire 800 version

    Will buy this today:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Firewire-800-...closures_RL&hash=item1c17b6762b#ht_3583wt_907

     
  5. Whaditis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    #5
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    You can do that, the optical drives are not inserted from the front, they are mounted by pulling out the entire drive bay and installing the drives from the back.

    Also, I hate to ask a dumb question, but are all four of your hard drive sleds full? If not you should just use one of those.
     
  7. Maxinterax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #7
    Thank you. It does look good.
    How do I connect the SATA cables when they do not appear exposed in the MacPro?
    Perhaps I am missing something.
    Max


     
  8. Maxinterax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #8
    Thank you. It is always good to check.
    My aim, for various reasons, is to have removable hard drives. SATA is my preference due to speed.
    However I cannot ses how to plug in a SATA cable in the MacPro. Perhaps I am missing something.

    Max

     
  9. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #9
    I've done this. Not sure about your product, but if you scroll to the bottom of the page there are helpful instructional videos that may apply to your situation.
     
  10. Maxinterax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #10
    Hey, thank you.
    That looks just the thing I need. Over the weekend I will check out the instructions.
    Thanks again
    Max


     

Share This Page