Adding Force Touch to Old Track Pads

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Peter0571, Oct 24, 2015.

  1. Peter0571, Oct 24, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2015

    Peter0571 macrumors newbie

    Peter0571

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #1
    It would technically be possible for Apple to program old trackpads to also have the new Force Touch features.
    They could configure tap-to-click as the only way of clicking.
    Then program the actual "clicking" as the Force Touch.
    I only tap-to-click anyways, so actually clicking goes unused.

    Am I on to something here??


    EDIT: Thread has been moved over to Accessories Forum
     
  2. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #2
    That's a pretty bad idea considering a lot of people actually click on the trackpad, including myself (I actually hate tapping to click).
     
  3. Goldex macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    #3
    Unfortunately that wouldn't work, since there is more than one click. Try fast forwarding a video in Quicktime with Force Touch, you'll feel one for every speed increase.
     
  4. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #4
    That's not how Force Touch works, at all.

    The pad is pressure sensitive, there are multiple levels of click depending on how hard you press. You can't program it into hardware that can't detect it.
     
  5. Peter0571 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Peter0571

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #5
    Only as an option in the trackpad settings for those who want it.
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    The problem is the trackpad itself is different for force touch - it is a combination of hardware and software.
     
  7. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #7
    I didn't even know there was a tap to click setting. :oops: I just looked and it's off by default. I like the idea of Force Touch, but I'll happily wait until I can get my hands on a machine that has it. I really don't want to change the way I use a trackpad, and just going from "emulating" it to actually using it, is going to be annoying because it's going from learning to use my existing trackpad in another way, and then learning to use the new one like the old one.
     
  8. Peter0571, Oct 25, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2015

    Peter0571 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Peter0571

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #8
    Right you wouldnt be able to adjust the zoom speed in Maps, or adjust fast-forward speeds in Quicktime. But I'm taliking about all the simple deep clicks. For example the link preview deep click, which is one of the most useful features IMO. It would just be a useful add-on option for those who dont use the "click" on the old trackpads anyways.
     
  9. Peter0571 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Peter0571

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #9
    Squirrrl Posted a good explanation on another thread:

    There would be no change to the mechanics of the old touch pad. All you have to do is change the result of the action that the old touchpads normally do.

    Currently on old touch pads:
    Tap ( if turned on) = click
    Physical click = click

    You reprogram these two actions to get these different results:
    Tap = click
    Physical click = website preview (or other actions that would be triggered on the new pad as a deep click)

    All they would have to do is change the software to respond to these two actions differently.
     

Share This Page