Adding geocode information to photos

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by DarkHeraldMage, Nov 30, 2007.

  1. DarkHeraldMage macrumors 6502a

    DarkHeraldMage

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #1
    I'm actually quite shocked this hasn't come up more often. I searched the forum and only found one thread about it over a year ago and there were no solid answers - is there a good program for geocoding photos on a Mac? I really wish that it were integrated into iPhoto somehow, but since it's not I'd like to do it some other way.

    Flickr now has this capability, so I'm assuming that if a picture is geocoded on a computer and then uploaded to flick that the coding would carry over. The only program I've found that looks even remotely promising is Magrathea and I'm still not even sure if that'll do it. Anyone have any thoughts/opinions/experience?

    Thanks!
     
  2. imfrog2002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #2
    If you have a GPS, a great app is GPSPhotoLinker. It takes the time stamp from the photos, and mixes it with the time on your GPS (if you had tracks turned on) and finds the exact position you were standing at when the photo was taken. (Within a few feet. GPS isn't 100% accurate, yet.) It embeds the info into the photos and it'll be geotagged when uploaded to Flickr automatically. :) I hope this helps!
     
  3. DarkHeraldMage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DarkHeraldMage

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #3
    It's great info, but I don't have a gps. :( I'm sure there's probably not an iPhoto plugin, but at this point I'm just looking for anyone else that is a fanatical about being organized as I am and actually does geocoding. I want to know who uses what and how they rate it so I don't have to go through a number of different apps to find a good one.
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    If you are using Aperture you can use GPS2Aperture to populate the data from Google Earth.
     

Share This Page