Adding ghost lines

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by beebo87, Sep 9, 2014.

  1. beebo87 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    #1
    I'm on a family talk plan with AT&T... I'm not currently eligible for an upgrade but I have heard people mention adding a ghost line to your account and paying the extra 9.99 a month to get the subsidized price at launch... Can someone walk me through this process? And can it be done at an apple store or does it have to be done at AT&T?
     
  2. Olivia23 macrumors 6502a

    Olivia23

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    around
    #2
    I have to ghost lines on verizon. I actually am paying about 11 each a month. I just called them up and asked verizon could I do it then switch to my number and they said yeah. I also have other people on my plan.
     
  3. beebo87 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    #3
    Has anyone done it with AT&T or does anyone know if you can do it at apple?
     
  4. Phone Junky macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    #4
    Just to get the new iPhone? Apple loves people like this.
     
  5. karmatourer macrumors 6502a

    karmatourer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    In my house
    #5
    I did 2 years ago and now I get a new phone every year. Unlike next where I would have to return the phone every year. I sell the current phone and it works out great for me.



    ----------

    Not as much as I do. 12x24=288. I sell my current phone when I upgrade for more than that every year. Unlike Next where it has to be returned.
     
  6. beebo87 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    #6
    This is the plan... How were you able to do it? At the apple store or AT&T?

    ----------

    It actually works out cheaper than buying the phone at full retail... And as was said above, upgrades every year... So yes. Just to get the new phone and they do love me. Lol
     
  7. beebo87 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    #7
    sorry to bump. just trying to find out what I need to do...
     
  8. fanchee macrumors 6502a

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #8
    I'd be interested in how to go about doing this, as well. I tried to add a ghost line last year, but was told by Verizon (corporate store) that they no longer add dumb phones. Well, they'd add one but it would cost the same as adding a smart phone. So no real benefit. Instead of $10/mo it was $30/mo minimum.
     
  9. karmatourer macrumors 6502a

    karmatourer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    In my house
    #9
    Just called AT&T and added a line for $9.99+ tax. So I get a phone every year (2 lines) and actually come out ahead dollar wise when I sell the phone.


     
  10. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #10
    Unless you buy the phone at full price you will be stuck with a data plan for two years on the upgrade line on verizon.
     
  11. rockitdog macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #11
    I know, it's hysterical. Paying an extra $10 a month just to have the latest and greatest!
     
  12. Slicktype macrumors 6502

    Slicktype

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #12
    Am I missing something here ? I see what you are trying to do, but given that I could sell my 5s 64GB around 550-600. I would only be paying around 300 to 250 out of pocket for the 6+ 64GB (850 retail)
    So why would it be beneficial to pay an additional $10 per month and 350 - 400 (or what ever it is) for the subsidy price of a new iPhone ?
    I'm just trying to understand, that's all.
     
  13. BoxerGT2.5 macrumors 68000

    BoxerGT2.5

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #13
    Do they make you add data to that line? I was always curious about that.
     
  14. nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #14
    How many people are on your plan?

    I ask, as most folks are better off switching to the new plans anyways. Also, if one of the OTHER phones is eligible, you can use that one for the upgrade.
     
  15. beebo87 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    #15
    My reasoning behind it was to be eligible for the subsidized price every year. So yea, I'd be paying an extra $120 a year for my service, but considering I'd save $250 over the partial upgrade price and $450 over the full retail price I see it as a win-win. Plus, for you, if you sold your phone for $550 you technically wouldn't have to pay anything out of pocket for the upgrade if you were eligible.

    ----------

    I'm on a 550 plan with 2 lines. But I was going to upgrade to the 700 plan because my girlfriend was joining the plan with my brother and i and I was going to use the 2 remaining lines as ghost lines so both my brother and i can upgrade as well.
     
  16. karmatourer macrumors 6502a

    karmatourer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    In my house
    #16
    No they do not. Simply $9.99 + tax per month.

     
  17. audiofx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    Verizon changed their systems 8/24 go on your account and pick an eligible line and pretend to upgrade now, you will get a disclosure box saying you understand you will need to pay for data for the contract even if you move the phone. Sucks they closed the loophole ;(
     
  18. phx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #18
    Is it better to add the line now or the day the preorders come online?

    I'm adding a family member onto my account so she doesn't have to pay $40/month for a home line, but she just wants a dumb phone so I am going to get her a GoPhone and upgrade my line to the 6+. Is it better if I add the account now, or add a line Thursday night?
     
  19. BoxerGT2.5 macrumors 68000

    BoxerGT2.5

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #19


    So just add a line, order the phone on that line which is eligible for an upgrade. Get the phone and pop the sim in the phone that you currently use (your number and data)?
     

Share This Page