Adding HD to a G4

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by email68, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. email68 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #1
    Someone gave me a 500mhz dual G4 w/256mb ram. Its running 10.2.8.

    It has one 80 gig hd and I added a second 120g that I had.

    Disk Utility lists the new drive, but as soon as I click on it, the app closes unexpectedly.

    I have the drives jumpered for cable select.

    A second question is I wanted to install the Tiger disk that came with my intel iMac but it won't because I assume it does not have the PPC files on it? It failed to install.

    Any help on either of this is appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #2
    Yeah you can't install Intel software on a PPC mac. You will have to purchase Retail DVDs of Tiger or Panther(only came on CDs) in order to install on your Mac. Try setting your Boot drive to master and make sure it's on the end of the IDE cable and the 120gb to Slave and it comes off the middle connection on the IDE ribbon cable.

    Are you trying to run Disk Utility from OS-X or from the iMac boot disc?

    That is a nice machine and you should upgrade to 2gb and install a better video card and that will be very nice Mac.
     
  3. email68 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the tips.

    I went and did the jumpers as you suggested. Unfortunately I have the same problem.

    When I go to Disk Utility and click on the original 80 gig hard drive, which does have panther 10.2.8 on it working btw, the connection ID is Master.

    When I click on the new 120 hd which is in the list, Disk Utility closes unexpectedly.

    I really just want to load it up with some more ram and some bigger harddrives and use it for a file server for my mp3s.
     
  4. fiercetiger224 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #4
    Hmm...Weird. It's not a hard drive that's greater than 120GB, so you shouldn't have any problems with it. I know Power Macs below the Quicksilver models could only address HD space below 128GB (it doesn't support 48-bit LBA). So I don't think it should be a problem...What kind of drive is it? Western Digital? Seagate?
     
  5. email68 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #5
    Its a western digital.

    Here is the Disk Utility crash report:

    Code:
    **********
    
    Date/Time:  2008-12-22 00:24:27 -0800
    OS Version: 10.2.8 (Build 6R73)
    Host:       TimsG4.local.
    
    Command:    Disk Utility
    PID:        598
    
    Exception:  EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x0001)
    Codes:      KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE (0x0002) at 0x00000006
    
    Thread 0 Crashed:
     #0   0x90131ba4 in CFRetain
     #1   0x90141d34 in CFDictionaryAddValue
     #2   0x00011774 in DiskPartitioning_partitionsForDisk
     #3   0x0112fd34 in -[DiskSetup(PartitionTab) displayPartitionSchemeNamed:]
     #4   0x0112f700 in -[DiskSetup(PartitionTab) selectCurrentPartition]
     #5   0x0112de40 in -[DiskSetup selectIcon:]
     #6   0x97dfab40 in _nsNotificationCenterCallBack
     #7   0x9016847c in _postNotification
     #8   0x90165b90 in _CFNotificationCenterPostLocalNotification
     #9   0x000095bc in -[DiskManager outlineViewSelectionDidChange:]
     #10  0x97dfab40 in _nsNotificationCenterCallBack
     #11  0x9016847c in _postNotification
     #12  0x90165b90 in _CFNotificationCenterPostLocalNotification
     #13  0x9312de5c in -[NSTableView _enableSelectionPostingAndPost]
     #14  0x93123508 in -[NSTableView mouseDown:]
     #15  0x931b1c84 in -[NSOutlineView mouseDown:]
     #16  0x930c1698 in -[NSWindow sendEvent:]
     #17  0x930a94ec in -[NSApplication sendEvent:]
     #18  0x930b2418 in -[NSApplication run]
     #19  0x931605cc in NSApplicationMain
     #20  0x0000497c in _start
     #21  0x00005dc4 in start
    
    PPC Thread State:
      srr0: 0x90131ba4 srr1: 0x0200f030                vrsave: 0x00000000
       xer: 0x20000000   lr: 0x90131b94  ctr: 0x90131b75   mq: 0x00000000
        r0: 0x90141d34   r1: 0xbfffd110   r2: 0x44004280   r3: 0x00000000
        r4: 0x00000000   r5: 0x00000000   r6: 0x00000001   r7: 0x00000000
        r8: 0xa0131b94   r9: 0xa0131b94  r10: 0x00000397  r11: 0x00067eb0
       r12: 0x90131b75  r13: 0x00000000  r14: 0x00000000  r15: 0xa30a04fc
       r16: 0x00000000  r17: 0x00000000  r18: 0x00000002  r19: 0x00000200
       r20: 0xbfffd430  r21: 0x00000000  r22: 0x00000001  r23: 0x00000030
       r24: 0x00000000  r25: 0x0001d370  r26: 0xa013564c  r27: 0x0001d370
       r28: 0x00000000  r29: 0x01112b10  r30: 0x90131b75  r31: 0x90131b94
     
  6. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #6
    You may want to try a new IDE cable. I know the one in my G4 PowerMac went bad and only allowed one drive to be detected.
     
  7. email68 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #7
    Thanks, I'm sure I have one laying around. I'll give it a shot.

    I should mention this drive I'm putting in is from a Tivo, so its formated with linux on it. I thought it should not matter since I'm formating anyway.
     

Share This Page