Adding memory to iMac 2017

Discussion in 'iMac' started by SkyLinx, Apr 10, 2018.

  1. SkyLinx macrumors member

    SkyLinx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    #1
    I just purchased an iMac mid-2017 with the default 8GB as I've read often that it's cheaper to buy and add memory myself. Question is, can I add just a module (e.g. 1 x 8GB) or do I have to add two modules? Would the iMac work with 3 modules (the two preinstalled plus the one I would add)?

    Also, between OWC and Crucial (or others you may know) which would you recommend for price/performance/reliability?

    Thanks
     
  2. theluggage macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #2
    Adding modules in matched pairs (put them in the 2 empty sockets, as shipped - should be the 2nd and 4th sockets) is recommended, because the RAM can then run in dual channel mode which doubles the bandwidth. Adding a single module at a time works, but you'll take a performance hit because the RAM won't then work in dual channel mode.

    Thread thrashing it all out here: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/ram-on-2017-imac-5k.2106351/ - there's a lot of ambiguous/just plain wrong information floating around, too.

    Haven't tried OWC, but Crucial have a handy search tool for finding the right chips, and sell the same Micron memory that Apple use. 2 x 8GB sticks will set you back a bit less than the upgrade to 16GB from Apple, but you end up with 24GB total - which should be more than enough for general use.
     
  3. SkyLinx thread starter macrumors member

    SkyLinx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
  4. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 68000

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #4
    Trust this is the 27" model. Apple designed the 21.5" memory not to be user upgradeable and this requires a crack of the iMac and almost complete strip down to access the memory.
     
  5. SkyLinx thread starter macrumors member

    SkyLinx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    #5
    Yes, it's the 27"
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    My advice -- DON'T add more RAM, until you know that you need it.
    Are you having any problems that could be considered "RAM-related" right now?
    If not -- just smile and be happy with what you have...! ;)
     
  7. SkyLinx thread starter macrumors member

    SkyLinx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    #7

    Actually I am a bit surprised that in these first two days I haven't had any issues at all with 8 GB and have also got Docker with 1 GB dedicated running and have been trying Android Studio with emulators and Parallels virtual machines... so far it seems to work just fine! I was planning on buying more memory because I had 32 GB on the previous computer but I think I'll follow your advice and wait a little and see if I'm good with 8 GB. Thanks! :)
     
  8. Phil in ocala Suspended

    Phil in ocala

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    #8
    I have a Mac Mini...i have 16 GB of Ram....don't notice any improvement on the spinning cursor.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. TheSkywalker77 macrumors 6502a

    TheSkywalker77

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    I got my memory from OWC for a good price and it's been pretty reliable. Haven't had any memory errors since I got it. Definitely worth the upgrade for me. :p
     

Share This Page