Adding More RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DJAKO, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. DJAKO macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    You only have 2 RAM slots, both of which are full. To max out you would need 2X2GB sticks to replace the 2X1GB sticks you already have.
     
  3. emac82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    #3
    That is the right ram, however if you plan on going to 4GB you will have to buy 2 X 2GB, the link you posted is for 1GB.
     
  4. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    Careful. Some of those are for the Mac Pro and would definitely not work on your MacBook Pro. The specs you had were fine just look for 2GB rather than 1GB.
     
  6. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    That should be OK. Note that if you put 2 of these in, your MBP will still only "see" 3.3GB. That is a hardware limitation of that machine. You could put one in and have a 1GB in the other slot for a total of 3GB. By running two different RAM sizes you will lose about 5% speed (no dual-channel mode).
     
  8. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    So there is no way to get the full 4GB?
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
  10. jbstew32 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #10
    I currently have 1GB in my macbook. What would you recommend as far as the sweet spot for RAM?

    I was thinking get 2x1GB as an upgrade, but I could get 1x2GB and have 2.5GB total for $20 more.

    What would give the best performance for the money? 2GB? 2.5GB? 3GB?
     
  11. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #11
    If you use lots of applications particularly big ones like iMovie and iPhoto but even Safari or Firefox over longer periods of time, more RAM is always better. What MacBook do you have? With a Core 2 Duo you could buy either 1GB now and then 2 GB later for a total of 3GB. If you have a Core Duo you should get 2X1GB and max out your machine now at 2GB. Activity Monitor shows a coloured wheel. If it is less than 25%-35% blue and green, you need more RAM.
     
  12. jbstew32 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #12
    I have the 2GHz C2D MB.

    Just as a test, I opened up all the apps I could have open at any given time. After doing so I only had 10MB Free (Green) and about 100MB or so inactive (Blue). I definitely need more RAM.

    I just wasn't sure whether it was really worth going for more than 2GB.
     
  13. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #13
    I would get the 2GB stick first (about $90). That should keep you going for another year. If you find you need more RAM after that you will have the choice of either a 1GB stick for 3GB or a 2GB stick for 3.3GB + 5% greater performance from dual-channel.
     
  14. jbstew32 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #14

    I just saw this on Newegg. It should work, right?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820208341
     

Share This Page