Adding RAM to a Mid-2007 20"

Discussion in 'iMac' started by tompan, Jul 7, 2014.

  1. tompan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #1
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    That is the incorrect type of memory for that iMac. You need PC2-5300 SODIMMS, laptop memory. You can put in 4GB in the form of two 2GB sticks or 6GB in the form of one 4GB stick and one 2GB stick.
     
  3. tompan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #3
    Oh ok I didn't notice the additional requirements, what is the reason why you can put 4+2gb but it is not written on the apple website ?
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    Manufactures don't list everything their products can do. You can put in 8GB as well, but it'll get extremely slow and unstable if you use a byte over 6GB of it.
     
  5. tompan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #5
    Can you recommend a brand or a website to find these ? I tried amazon and the single 4GB bars of "PC2-5300 SODIMMS" looks too expensive to be worth it. Maybe I should go for 2x2GB.
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    4GB modules are a bit expensive. I suggest the 2x2GB unless you really want the extra 2GB.
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    These would be a fine match for your iMac.
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5223932&CatId=11462

    Memory prices have been going up recently. If you don't have 4GB now, then the 2 x 2GB pair would be a great upgrade for your iMac.
     
  8. tompan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #8
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    That is desktop memory and will not fit. You need to use laptop SODIMMS.
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    Yes - absolutely won't fit (physically too large). You continue to look at "desktop" memory, but your iMac (as well as many other iMac models) uses SODIMMs, or what most here would call laptop memory. Here's a set from the same supplier that IS correct: http://www.amazon.com/Komputerbay-M...0&sr=1-2&keywords=komputerbay+pc2-5300+sodimm

    And, those appear to be even lower cost, with free shipping!
     
  11. peglegjack macrumors 6502

    peglegjack

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #11
  12. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #12
    The picture shows a SODIMM, but the description reads SDRAM, which is usually used for describing desktop RAM - same memory, but very different size. I like my computer parts to be clearly identified, so unless you already have experience with that supplier - I say go elsewhere.
     
  13. peglegjack macrumors 6502

    peglegjack

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #13
    In this case, my opinion would be to read the reviews. Many speak of improving their laptops.

    Worst comes to worst, you can get 2 2GB modules from OWC for $53.99 if I remember correctly.
     
  14. tompan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #14
    Thanks for the info. and this looks like a great deal
     
  15. tompan, Jul 7, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2014

    tompan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #15
  16. tyche macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #16
  17. tompan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014

Share This Page