Adding RAM to late-2009 iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Roger Thornhill, Apr 3, 2016.

  1. Roger Thornhill, Apr 3, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2016

    Roger Thornhill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    #1
    New topic, because the other one seemed pretty focused on different things, hope that's okay.

    Hey, so my knowledge when it comes to these things is very limited.

    I have a 21,5 inch late 2009 iMac. (entry level hardware).

    That means 4 GB of RAM. The iMac has 4 slots, available via the bottom of the screen.

    I was thinking about upgrading this and adding another 2x2GB of RAM.

    Now I don't really know alot about this sort of thing.

    When I buy the RAM, I need to make sure that everything listed here (under late 2009 iMac) is right.

    It has to be 1066 MHz DDR3 SDRAM and it has to PC3-8500 and it has to be 204-pin. Is that true?

    So this (german amazon link, sorry) would not work.

    But this should work, right? (are there any cheaper options than this, btw? Or should I go more expensive?)

    Thank you guys in advance!
     
  2. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #2
    Interesting that the link you posted is for Crucial RAM.

    Go to Crucial's website and run their compatibility check on your machine. It will tell you exactly what RAM will work. It's easy.
     
  3. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #3
  4. Roger Thornhill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    #4
    First thing, besides the Kingston, that showed up for me on Amazon!

    Thanks a lot for the tip, I will check that out!

    Will check this out too! Once again, thank you!
     
  5. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #5
    204 pin. Also known as SO-DIMM, or "laptop" memory.

    just search for "pc3-8500 sodimm"
     
  6. Roger Thornhill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    #6
    Oh yeah, that must've been a typo!

    But thanks for correcting me!
     
  7. captainparanoid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
  8. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #8
  9. captainparanoid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    #9
    Thanks for your reply

    How come it is so expensive?
    A 4GB ram module costs almost half of what I paid for the re-furb iMac :(
     
  10. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #10
    I don't imagine that it's still profitable to manufacture ddr2 memory, so the supply is limited, which keeps the price up.
     

Share This Page