Adding Ram to Macbook? Yes or No?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Enigmur, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. Enigmur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #1
    I have the 2.0GHz 1GB Macbook, and I’d like to upgrade to 2GB.

    I’ve heard of memory upgrades voiding the warranty, if you use the wrong sort – I have the 3yr applecare plan, so I’d rather not void it.

    Will this memory from Kingston be ok? http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/con...fo.asp?root=&LinkBack=&ktcpartno=KTA-MB667/1G

    I can source it for pretty cheap (especially compared to AppleStore).

    Can I install it myself without ruining my warranty? Has anyone else upgraded memory themselves in a Macbook?
    I build PC’s at work, and have worked on a couple of laptops – the Macbook looks a bit tricky to get into – but I’m sure I’d manage.

    I’d just like to know if it’s okay to do a memory upgrade? (I think I’ve heard of people removing the memory again if they ever send the Mac back for repair).

    Cheers.
     
  2. Anorion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    #2
    Well, the MacBook is in the list of compatible devices, so I'd guess it'd be fine. Plus, Kingston makes pretty decent ram. I think I still have some 256k SIMMS made by them in one of my old PC's, still going strong after 20 years.
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    If you build PCs then you can install RAM in the Macbook with your eyes closed. It really is very easy.

    Instructions here (pdf)

    Compability wise there is actually a list on that website telling you which models it is compatible with. They list Macbooks 1, 2 and 3rd generation which covers all the Macbooks so it is compatible.
     
  4. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #4
    On the MB, RAM and HD upgrades are considered "user-serviceable parts." That means that you will not be voiding your warranty if you add RAM.

    It takes about 30 seconds, and all you need is a quarter, and a #0 phillips head. Nothing tricky to it.
     
  5. Enigmur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #5
    Thanks guys, but what I want to know is if it voids my Apple Warranty at all.

    And do you know if the macbook comes with 2x 512 or 1x 1gb stick? I hope it’s a single 1GB stick, or I’ll have to buy two 1GB sticks to replace the 2 512’s

    Thanks!
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
  7. vm7118 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    #7
    any ddr2 pc5300 ram will work. unbuffered, unregistered, no ecc... which will be the case as long as you are not buying any ram specifically listed for use in server applications.
     
  8. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #8
    I had 4g in my last macbook, it was fast...the new owner is on the fourm, the more ram the better...
     
  9. dvd macrumors regular

    dvd

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #9
    Yup you'll need 2 sticks. If you're worried about the AppleCare, throw the old sticks in a drawer and pop them back in if you ever need warranty support.
     
  10. Christian H macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    Is there a huge performance difference if I don't install two 1GB side by side, and instead just install 1GB next to my initial 512mb? Thanks
     
  11. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    No it doesn't void your warranty; there are instructing in the user guide which is essentially written permission to modify. Just don't sell the original RAM, and they won't cover your RAM if it's broken as in if they find the problem is the RAM, they won't give you new RAM, but tell you it's the RAM and it's your problem.

    And it's always in pairs from Apple.
     

Share This Page