Adding RAM to MacMini, do both RAM modules need to match?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by nplima, Aug 18, 2008.

  1. nplima macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi all,


    I have this 1.42GHz G4 Mac Mini that my mother uses for very basic stuff but still gets bogged down by skype videoconferencing or by having more than a couple of tabs open on the browser. I was thinking of adding some RAM to its original 512MB (DDR 3200 on 1 module).

    I checked prices on Ebuyer and 1GB of DDR3200 SODIMM will set me back £26 while a DDR4200 module of the same capacity will cost £13. I was wondering if it would be OK to mix the 2 memory types and get 1.5GB, or if I should replace the original RAM completely.

    Any thoughts?

    thanks
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Non- issue, there is only one RAM socket in a G4 Mini. Your maximum is 1 GB with a 1 GB DDR-400 (PC3200) DIMM

    Guides : Mac Hardware : Buying RAM
     
  3. nplima thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Thanks for that, especially for the link. It answers my follow up question...

    :(:(:(:(

    I'm torn with the notion that a perfectly nice computer will eventually go to waste because of forced upgrades to something seemingly simple like videoconferencing.
     
  4. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #4
    Perfectly nice computers are thrown away every day because they are infected with malware. I would be thankful that the computer has been very useful even beyond its intended lifespan. It seems to have been a decent computer. :D
     
  5. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #5
    who throws away a computer because of malware? Isn't that throwing the baby out with the bathwater? Ever hear of reformat/re-install as a solution?
     
  6. nplima thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    yeah, but not-so-savvy users are easily tempted to spend 300 for a brand new PC instead of 100 for an hour of work on a machine that is 2x slower than the model of the current year.

    Since I don't want to be confused with those not-so-savvy ;) I'm trying to tweak this installation a bit to keep this MacMini active. I have a surplus PC but the mini will certainly demand a smaller effort to maintain, me being in a different country and all...

    The webcam software allows setting the resolution for something lower than 320x240 but somehow that setting is not carried over to Skype... must investigate :p
     

Share This Page