Adding RAM to MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by halisray, Aug 13, 2011.

  1. halisray macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    MTL
    #1
    Hey all,

    I have the new MBP 2011 13" i5 processor, etc etc. I have 4GB of ram, and I went into Best Buy today and I saw 2GB of DDR3 ram from GB Micro for $29. Could I add that into my MBP or is it best to go through Apple?

    Thanks
     
  2. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #2
  3. Chopstick217 macrumors regular

    Chopstick217

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #3
  4. y0umebednow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #4
    You wont be able to add that since you dont have any free slots. If you want to up the ram to 6GB then you will have to purchase a 4GB stick.
     
  5. The Tuck macrumors 6502

    The Tuck

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    #5
    This is one of the best RAM deals that I have seen in awhile. 8GB for $39.99 is great. And Corsair RAM comes with a lifetime warranty. This RAM will work in your new MacBook Pro because they changed the type to 1333mhz DDR3 RAM. Older MacBook Pros use 1066mhz DDR3 RAM - so for anyone thinking about getting this, be aware that you need 1066mhz RAM for the 2010, 2009, etc. MacBook Pros.
     
  6. lindstedt56 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    #6
    Dont buy ram from best buy or apple, it is much cheaper to buy it from amazon or newegg.
     
  7. halisray thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    MTL
    #7
    Oh so I can't buy 2GB but I can buy 4GB? Because isn't there slots enough for 8GB of RAM?
     
  8. wegster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #8
    Your system has 2 SO-DIMM slots. Reading your manual, following the search link, or plugging in your SN onto Apples site would have told you this. Apple populates 4GB as 2x2GB, therefore any memory added is going to be by replacing the existing RAM. For $40 for 8gb it's a no-brainer, not sure why you're trying to make this difficult or not following links already given?

    Here is your system if it's as you described:
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...-13-early-2011-unibody-thunderbolt-specs.html
    Enter in your S/N here to get full specs direct from Apple:
    http://support.apple.com/specs/
     
  9. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #9
    Yes, you have 2 RAM slots. Apple sells 4GB as two 2GB sticks, so both your slots are filled. You would have to put a 4GB stick for a total of 6GB of RAM or two 4GB sticks for a total of 8GB.

    To upgrade your RAM you will have to remove one or both of your current sticks.
     
  10. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #10
    You have two RAM slots, each is capable of supporting up to a 8 GB RAM module. Currently each is filled with a 2 GB RAM module. To upgrade, you should buy 2 4 GB RAM modules and replace both of the 2 GB RAM modules currently installed.

    Of course, the question remains this: Do you even need to?
     

Share This Page