adding ringtones how?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mingenyx, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. mingenyx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    #1
    i can ssh but where do iput the files in.

    and they have to be mp4 files or something different
     
  2. angel1286 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #2
    you could just use iToner and it will put your ringtones on for you. That's what I used and mine are in mp3 format.
     
  3. mingenyx thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
  4. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #4
    Now would be a good time to get one :D
     
  5. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #5
    I tried iToner and it worked fine until the Apple crash report / syncing debacle over the holidays. When my itunes hung during a sync, and I had to force quit itunes, all of my itoner ringtones were removed from the iphone. I had to re-sync with itoner to put them back on.

    I then tried Garageband and it works much better (and is free since it came with my computer). You can drag an mp3 or midi into GB, set the loop, and even adjust the volume a bit. Then export it to itunes and it just works. I also noticed that a ringtone created in GB plays louder on the iphone than the same tone created using iToner.

    Glad I didn't pay for iToner yet. It works, but GB is better IMO.
     
  6. ascender macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #6
    Is there an idiot's guide to using GB to do this as I was struggling to get it working last time and I must have been missing something really obvious. Yes, I am that idiot...
     
  7. angelstrive macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    #7
    iPone support MP3 audio format

    You can download some iPhone supported MP3 audio format or convert some videos of various formats to iPhone.
     
  8. megfilmworks macrumors 68020

    megfilmworks

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks
    #8
    Straight from Apple:
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=307108
     
  9. JBaker122586 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #9
    Make sure you are using iLife '08.
     
  10. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #10
    Pretty cool...

    I just added Apple iPhone Commercial to my iPhone, and it was pretty easy. The difficult part is deciding where to LOOP the ringtone, but after that it was pretty much self-explanatory. Don't forget to TURN the volume up. Thanks! :cool:
     
  11. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #11
    If you have a full length song, GB will automatically choose a loop length when you click the "export to itunes ringtone" menu item. It works great with midi files but haven't tried it with an mp3.
     
  12. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #12
    Is it possible to loop the Apple Commercial...

    longer than "8 seconds" or is that the standard? :cool:
     
  13. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #13
    Sure. In garage band, after clicking "export ringtone to itunes" once, it will put the yellow loop bar at the top of your timeline. then you can go to the end of that bar and stretch it or shrink it. I did find that if you stretch too far (like 30 seconds) that GB will complain and refuse to export the file. So there is a limit.
     
  14. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #15
    Good to know...

    since I'm fairly new to GB! Thanks again. :cool:
     
  15. Aries326 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #16

    I saw this method on a different website:

    1. Use your favorite audio program to edit an mp3 file to get the portion you want to turn into a ringtone.

    2. Open the file with iTunes

    3. Use iTunes to convert the file into an ACC file

    4. Find the file in the ACC format. It should be in the iTunes Music Folder

    5. Depending on what version Windows you have, this will be different. For me, I go into the control panels of Vista, open up Folder Options, Click the View tab, and Unclick the "Hide Extensions for Known File Types"

    6. Now change the m4a filetype of the file to m4r. Now doubleclick the file. It'll be opened up by iTunes as a ringtone.

    7. Just click the ringtones tab with your iPhone in the dock. You now have a new ringtone available!
     
  16. MyNewSolstice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #17
    Aries is correct and it works like a charm...Steve Jobs has enough money as is!
     

Share This Page