Adding Sources/Repos with Pwnagetool 3.1.4

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ericksgotmac, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. ericksgotmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #1
    I can't seem to figure it out at all. I'm trying to use PwnageTool 3.1.4 to add my own sources such as the halo rep. I get as far as adding them and can't get PwnageTool to show me the packages available on the repos. Does anyone have a method they use for this?

    All I want to do is create a custom firmware that has things like WinterBoard, Cydelete, Cycorder, the Halo-like game on it and other packages from sources that I would otherwise have to spend 20 mins readding and downloading the packages already installed when I restore/upgrade with the Pwnage Firmware.
     
  2. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #2
    huh

    you add sources in cydia etc not Pwnage cydia/manage/sources/ edit then add. cydia will double check to make sure you want to add the source!
     
  3. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #3
    No, you can pre-install Cydia packages in PwnageTool's expert mode, and PwnageTool has the ability to add repositories beyond the four that come pre-installed. I have also had difficulty getting it to work properly, however.
     
  4. ericksgotmac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #4
    yea i know that... but in the Pwnagetool program there is a Option that says I can add my own repo/sources if I want too. I want too. I managed too have Winterboard, Gameboy4iPhone, and PSX4iPhone preinstalled when I restored it using the custom ipsw made from PwnageTool. Now I want to be able to install packages from other sources that aren't available by default from Pwnagetool. Sources like iGuides, Sleepers, and other repos.

    Take a look in the PwnageTool 3.1.4 'Expert Mode' and in the Cydia section and you'll see where it says Manage Sources, you can add your own.
     
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    I've had a problem with other repositories, too. They appear to add correctly, but then no packages appear, even when I click refresh. If you figure it out, let me know!
     
  6. ericksgotmac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #6
    Has anyone tried to contact the Dev-Team and ask them how to do it? I've been on countless forums, searched Youtube and Google and have come up with nothing at all. I'm beginning to think that option is just for decoration.
     
  7. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #7
    Really doesn't make sense, dice a repository should be a repository as far as PT's implementation of apt is concerned.
     
  8. ericksgotmac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #8
    You could try it for yourself and see what I'm trying to do.

    1. Opened PwnageTool 3.1.4 and selected Expert
    2. Selected the Official iPhone 3GS Firmware 3.1.2
    3. In the Cydia section I selected the 'Manage Sources'
    4. I added for example the iGuides source " http://apt.iguides.ru/ "
    5. I went to the Download packages section and selected http://apt.iguides.ru
    6. I clicked refresh and nothing happens....at all

    The problem begins at step 6. Here is where PwnageTool is supposed to list any package located in the repo, but obviously it doesn't at all.

    I need a fix for this or some other way to make it work....any ideas?
     
  9. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #9
    To be clear, I'm not saying it works...I thought I'd been clear that I've tried the same thing with the same result. I'm just saying that I don't understand why it doesn't.
     
  10. ericksgotmac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #10
    Oh okay, sorry about that. Does anyone know how to get in touch with the Dev- Team and ask them how to properly add a source to PwnageTool?
     
  11. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #11
    Let me give you a piece of advice. The more "stuff" you cram into the custom restore IPSW, the greater likelihood of a bad JB.

    I have done it both ways, added JB apps to IPSW and only selected Cydia and OpenSSH for the IPSW.

    In just about every case where I crammed extra stuff into the IPSW, I got a bad jailbreak.

    In the cases where I just selected only Cydia and OpenSSH, I got a trouble free JB every time (now I only choose these on every JB).

    There are threads posted here about the same issues. Do yourself a favor, keep it simple.

    And I do understand you are only trying to add repo's.
     
  12. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #12
    Exactly. I mostly just wanted to try out the procedure. I figured I might try it with one package and see how it went. Now I'm just curious to figure out why it doesn't work.
     

Share This Page