Adding SSD, leave original drive as is and run software from it?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ZZ Bottom, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. ZZ Bottom, Jun 2, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011

    ZZ Bottom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #1
    I couldn't find the answer via google and what not, and I haven't attempted this "lazy" method before so I don't even know if the OS will allow it.

    Q: If I relegate my current 250g drive which has OS 10.6 and all software as my slave drive with a 60g SSD as the primary, will I be able to run the software from the second drive while booted into the SSD with 10.6 on it? I have a boatload of software and I don't want to have to reinstall it (mapping the bulk of it to a secondary drive of course).

    Will the library folders have to be relocated to primary drive for software to run?

    Any heads up on the process would be greatly appreciated.

    EDIT: FYI i plan on directly installing a few apps I use the most directly on the drive since I will have the space for it. The rest I would like left as is if possible.
     
  2. Elisha macrumors 6502a

    Elisha

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    #2
    If your current drive has less than 60gb occupied, you can directly clone it to the SSD and make the the SSD the boot drive and then wipe out the original drive and use it for you files and libraries.
     
  3. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #3
    Generally you can't do this. Or it is not the best idea. Run the apps off the boot drive and move your home folder with all your content. Apps like Adobe usually do not run if not installed to the boot /Applications directory.

    This may help:
    http://www.tuaw.com/2009/05/14/tuaw-tip-moving-your-home-folder-to-another-disk-or-moving-it/

    Back everything up to an external hard drive. Clone your boot volume to your new SSD. Move over your home folder to HDD and follow the directions in the link. If you do not have enough space on your SSD to clone everything. Delete the home folder contents of the boot after backing up and then clone the boot to SSD then migrate home folder and follow directions.
     
  4. ZZ Bottom thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for the replies. I obviously should have mentioned that I have more in my application folder alone than I can fit on my whole SSD. What kills me the most is the software libraries for Final Cut Pro, Logic Pro, and CS5.

    Okay new question:
    Can I migrate all apps to new drive via migration assistant without bringing the content libraries for the pro applications? I have done many TM restores and migrations, but never really had to be concerned about dividing content in the process.

    My apprehension for starting fresh is that I don't want to waste the absurd amount of time and attention that will be required to reinstall from 15 or so DL DVDs worth of content for all the pro applications. I want that as a last resort ;)

    BTW thank you derbothaus for the article. Should come in handy.
     
  5. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #5
    Um. You may need a bigger SSD then or to par down how many apps you have installed. The content libraries of those programs are not in the Application folder, they are in support folders than can be moved to yet another disk or placed in one massive disk with your "Home" data. Yes, they can be moved. Final cut likes to do it in the installer but I am pretty sure you can point to the location later. Same with the loops in Logic and content. You may need to re-index them in the app though.

    I have a 240GB SSD with Apps and OS. A HDD with my Home library on it and a 1TB HDD with support samples and content.

    You can possibly move some things around but it will become a headache soon enough if installers are looking for specific locations that are not there anymore.
    Good luck. Personally I would start over since your new direction is a major deviation from the original intent. Add up the space needed and buy accordingly. 60GB is just not enough when you have FCP and Logic and support and extra content. Not to mention plug-ins etc... You wont have any room to move.
     
  6. ZZ Bottom thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #6
    Fair advice but I received the ssd free and have no other use for it. It's a mushkin that received good reviews on newegg and amazon, about 1 year old and only used for 2 months in my friend's pc. Should be a nice improvement over the WD Blue drive I currently am using as the primary.

    Going to try just importing applications first because I have various small programs that I dont feel like tracking down the licenses for. Perhaps as you said I can track down the specific preferences in FCP/Logic and reconnect the media library in its new location on drive 2.
     

Share This Page