adding sth to the path

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by juhuu123, Jun 1, 2010.

1. juhuu123 macrumors newbie

Dear all,
    I am a complete beginner in this field, but I need to know how I can successfully add sth to the path variable, that stays there and that works. I have downloaded a package (cufflinks) and untared it and two binaries (cufflinks and cuffcompare) from that I now have to add to the path variable. I tried it with

export PATH=$PATH:/new_path_entry

but that does not work. At least I do not get the cufflinks command to run. Can anyone help me, please? If you need further information, please tell me.

Thanks a lot,
    juhuu

2. petron macrumors member

Hi,

I do not know much of the tool you are suppose to use but...
    Did you verified that the "/new_path_entry" is currently in the path ?

run in terminal

echo $PATH

to see your path, it may be something else that prevent you from running the cufflinks.

/petron

3. pilotError macrumors 68020

pilotError

That will only work in the current window as long as new_path_entry contains the location of the binaries.

We just went through this on This Thread

4. juhuu123 thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks a lot for your help. I tried now various ways, how to add this "cufflinks" to my PATH, but it does not work. I also read the other thread, but I cannot find anything, that would help me now. Like I said, I do not know much about this. So here is a little history of what I did.

in my account (no admin rights):

export sudo export PATH=$PATH:/Users/juhuu/cufflinks/cufflinks-0.8.2.OSX_x86_64/cufflinks

then it asked me for the password and afterwards it said, that the account is not in the sudoers file.

so I changed to the admin acoound and I did the same and then it says

sudo: export: command not found

so does anyone know, where I do the mistakes?

Thanks a lot

5. pilotError macrumors 68020

pilotError

If you want to be try it out, open a terminal window and type