Adding USB port?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by RDM, Jan 17, 2009.

1. RDM macrumors member

Guys, I have a PowerMac G4 Quicksilver model M8667LL/A, Dual 1.0 Ghz, that I'd like to see about adding an additional USB port to the back of the unit. It only comes with two, one is being used for the keyboard-> mouse, the other I have an external hard drive plugged into. I recently bought a cradle for my Fuji digital camera that comes with a USB cord, I'd like to hardmount the cradle and plug it in but don't want to swap with the hard drive every time I use it or run the cable to the spare keyboard port, that looks like hell. Is this a feasible option to do, and if so, how? Mind you I'm not a computer expert so I'd either need a very basic set of instructions or an technician to do it locally, but first I'd like to know if it's even possible. Any help is appreciated.

2. runplaysleeprun macrumors 6502a

runplaysleeprun

3. Earl Urly macrumors regular

The card mentioned above has reviews that mention it won't work in a Mac, even after downloading a driver. It uses the VIA chipset which is not supported well on the Mac.

Get a USB card with a NEC chipset, its supported automatically in Tiger and Leopard. Only $10.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815124008

This card has at least three separate reviews that say it works beautifully in a Mac with no driver installs necessary.

Even though it's SYBA, it's virtually identical to the Sonnet Allegro USB 2.0.

http://www.sonnettech.com/product/allegro_usb2.html

4. RDM thread starter macrumors member