Adding www. and .com to link

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by LePigeonBleu, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. LePigeonBleu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #1
    Hey!

    I am running SL on my Intel MacBook. Since I upgraded to either SL or Safari 4, I have not been able to type a link and have it add www. and .com to the link automatically. For example, typing "google" and having it automatically add the .com to it.

    I've done some searching, and found out about OpenDNS. I would much rather not use anything like that to get my .com back. Does anyone know of a way to tweak some settings in Safari or SL to get it to do this automatically again?

    Thanks,

    m
     
  2. gooostovo macrumors newbie

    gooostovo

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
  3. steezy1337 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Carlisle, UK
    #3
    ctrl + Enter should do it without going into a new tab
     
  4. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #4
    The www. is not necessary at all, if the site wants to use it it will add it for you. Firefox will work like you want it, just tested it.
     
  5. LePigeonBleu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #5
    Doesn't work sadly.

    apple + enter opens a new tab for me, and still doesn't enter the .com part.
     
  6. steezy1337 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Carlisle, UK
    #6
    Are you running the latest version? (4.0.4 i think) just tested it on my iMac and it's working fine, you could always try downloading Safari from Apple's website.
     
  7. LePigeonBleu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #7
    I am running the latest version, and I did try downloading it from Apple's website and no luck still.

    m
     
  8. olvrfshr, Dec 21, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2013
  9. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #9
    Firefox uses Google's "I'm feeling lucky" search. For example, typing "Wikipedia" into the address bar will take you to .org not .com. With Keywurl you can set Safari up the same way.
     
  10. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #10
    It should, but it won't always do so. The site admin has to set it up to do so, and too often they do not.
     
  11. RobertD63 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    A place
    #11
    I have the same problem, and changing those DNS setting seem like a little bit to much work for me, and I might mess something up. Thats scaring me away, is their just a little freeware program? :eek: Asking too much? :p
     
  12. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #13
    http://glimmerblocker.org/

    Is a proxy server (sits between your internet and your mac) and will add things like searching from your Safari location bar without resorting to 'hacks'.
     

Share This Page