Additional info on battery usage screen...

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by shandyman, Jul 22, 2015.

  1. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #1
    I've not seen this posted, but there's a clock icon next to the 24 hours/7 day toggle, when you tap it, it shows a breakdown of actual time on screen vs background.

    [​IMG]

    Nice bit of detail.
     
  2. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #2
    It's been there since the first Developer Preview.
     
  3. shandyman thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #3
    Oh, only just discovered it and did a quick search on the forum and didn't see a thread about it. Sorry.
     
  4. pacorob macrumors 65816

    pacorob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    the Netherlands
  5. shandyman thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #5
    Yea. It's good for that little bit of detail. I had a rogue app killing my battery, It was using background, so I killed background app refresh, cured that ill.
     
  6. pacorob macrumors 65816

    pacorob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #6
    I wish this feature was already in iOS7 launch. I had so huge battery drain when switching to iOS6 > 7 but this was caused do to a rogue app that was constantly using background activity and GPS.
     
  7. 2457282 Suspended

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    #7
    Get the Battery Doctor App. It has a few nice features that give you enough info to figure this kind of stuff out.
     
  8. pacorob macrumors 65816

    pacorob

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #8
    I'm looking at More > Discharge Rank but i don't know how to interpret the 'Level of power usage'.
    The only thing i right now see is that the battery (doctor app?) is the only application which is indicated as being used.
     
  9. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #9
    Can anyone explain why Facebook is allowed to accumulate many hours of background time when I have Background App Refresh disabled? Outside of BAR an app can run in the background for VoIP, audio, location, but I'm pretty certain FB is not using any of these privileges, so what's the deal?

    [In the last 7 days it's been on screen for 1.3hrs and in the background for 3.2hrs. I've seen a lot worse in previous weeks]
     
  10. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #10
    Because it's a terrible app. I would never leave it in my app switcher. It gets closed right away after use for this very reason.
     
  11. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #11
    Terrible it may be, but I'm more interested in a technical explanation for how it is even possible, as Apple are pretty strict about the use of certain privileges to run in the background. All I can think is it possible registers as VoIP because its sister Messenger app can take calls. But the main app shouldn't be classed as VoIP!
     
  12. shandyman thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #12
    I didn't think apps like that could really work properly, as they cannot access the detail required to be accurate?
     
  13. Coupz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    #13
    I believe more and more that Facebook uses VoIP so it can run in the background.
     

Share This Page