Adelie Linux - Boot OSX from GRUB

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by vddrnnr, Oct 17, 2018.

  1. vddrnnr macrumors member

    vddrnnr

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #1
    Hi all,

    Continuing my endeavours to get Adelie Linux on a powerbook G4 i'm trying to
    configure GRUB to dual boot OSX.
    I've looked everywhere but couldn't find a way to boot OSX from GRUB when
    the GRUB partition is the default.
    Does anyone know if this is possible and if so how to do it?

    @awilfox

    If you see this post can you take a look at the message I've sent you through chat. Thank.

    best regards,
    voidRunner
     
  2. AphoticD, Oct 17, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2018

    AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    The Adélie installation on my iBook G3 is broken at the moment, but I was just manually booting into grub or OS X via OpenFirmware.

    Adélie: boot hd:11,\grub
    OSX: boot hd:3,\\:tbxi

    Does Adélie Linux include the nvram tool?** If so, you could write a simple shell script.

    On my G5 Mate triple-boot system, I have setup 'rebootmate', 'rebootleopard' and 'reboottiger' scripts and dropped them into /usr/local/bin.

    rebootmac.sh (installed on the Linux system)
    Code:
    nvram --update-config boot-device="first-boot/@0:3,\\\\:tbxi" && reboot
    rebootadelie.sh (Installed on the OSX system)
    Code:
    nvram boot-device="first-boot/@0:11,\\grub" && reboot
    Not quite as pretty as an option in the bootloader (a la yaboot), but it still should do the job.

    ** EDIT: I answered myself with the Live CD, the nvram tool does appear to be included.
     
  3. vddrnnr thread starter macrumors member

    vddrnnr

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #3
    Hi AphoticD,

    Ill look into that :).
    Just another question how was your CPU usage, do you remember?
    My system displays 60% sys at the console. It seems a bit high but
    if I start the live CD its the same.

    Best regards,
    voidRunner
     
  4. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    `
    I just booted the Alpha 6 live disc and here's the output of top -o "%CPU"

    DSC_0119.jpg

    It shows CPU idling at 54% with no responsible processes.. maybe it is a CPU throttling / sleep process?
     
  5. vddrnnr, Oct 17, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2018

    vddrnnr thread starter macrumors member

    vddrnnr

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #5
    Hi AphoticD,

    I'm not sure but it seems system time is very high which doen't leave much
    for the rest.
    When I start up X if pulseaudio is running it goes immediatly to 90 plus percent.
    If I stop it it goes to between 70 and 80.
    If I look at top when running stuff it looks like it's doing a balancing act between user software
    and system but the problem is that no CPU process is using it but usage is still high.

    Another thing is because of this total load is always high and cpufreq management with
    powernowd is not able to do anything because total cpu is always around 80. The
    result is high temps and loud fans :(

    I'm trying to get awilfox input on this but she hasn't replied yet.

    Best regards,
    voidRunner
     

Share This Page

4 October 17, 2018