Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
Original poster
May 3, 2009
I installed and used Adguard but I found it was not what I was looking for. Unfortunately, there does not seem to be an uninstaller. I checked out adguard.com, its KB articles and FAQ. There's information to uninstall it on Windows but not OS X.

There seems to be kexts installed with the app, that I'd like to remove cleanly.

Weaselboy

Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
California
The Adguard launch process should be in one of these folders.

~/Library/LaunchAgents
/Library/LaunchAgents
/Library/LaunchDaemons
/Library/StartupItems

Or you could run an Etrecheck report and it would show you which of those folders it is in.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
Original poster
May 3, 2009
Thanks, I can handle those, but I get nervous about deleting the kexts, I've had some bad experiences with removing kexts and causing issues.
2016-02-10_06-41-32.png

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
Original poster
May 3, 2009
I opened a ticket with their support who only got back to me about dragging the main app to the trash. If the install process puts files on my computer I expect them to provide a mechanism to remove those files - wishful thinking though.
[doublepost=1455113148][/doublepost]Perhaps @avatar-adg has some info on uninstalling the app.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
Original poster
May 3, 2009
Aww.... live dangerously!

I don't have any of those four folders/files, so it is pretty safe to say they are from the proxy install like it appears.
I rolled the dice and removed the files manually. Given the annual price of the application, I wish they provided a more elegent way of removing their files from my computer but at this point. I'm all set.

Reactions: Weaselboy

macrumors 6502
May 15, 2015
Moscow
I guess you are right, we should provide an article with a clear description on how to remove all the tails.