AdGuard Pro

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by willmtaylor, Mar 31, 2017.

  1. willmtaylor, Mar 31, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2017

    willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #1
    I'm having an issue with AdGuard Pro and wondering if anyone else as well.

    This pseudo-VPN is successfully blocking ads systemwide most of the time. However, ads get through (even with the "VPN" enabled) when I'm connected to my university's wifi. They don't get though when on home wifi or when connected to cellular data.

    Any thoughts?

    @avatar-adg ?
     
  2. avatar-adg macrumors 6502

    avatar-adg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Location:
    Moscow
    #2
    Hi!

    Are you on the beta or release version? My guess is that your university's Wi-Fi provides IPv6 DNS servers, and due to this, ads manage to sneak through.

    It's just we will be rolling out a HUGE update next week, it might help with everything, as AG now filters IPv6 as well.
     
  3. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #3
    No beta. Just regular PRO. Ok, interesting.

    I'll keep my eyes out for that update.

    Thank you.
     
  4. Howl's Castle macrumors regular

    Howl's Castle

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    #4
    I'm using AdGuard Pro on Windows and some ads still get through. It has to do with their filters
     
  5. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #5
    Thanks for the reply, but my situation seems different than yours.

    I'm not simply talking about a few ads always getting through. The issue is that ads regularly and predictably get through when on one data source, but when on another data source and they do not.
     
  6. avatar-adg macrumors 6502

    avatar-adg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Location:
    Moscow
    #6
    Windows? That's a whole different story as Windows version is the most powerful one of all (Mac is close, but still a bit back) and can do literally anything with any ad or tracker.

    So just report an ad if you see it and we'll take care of it.
     
  7. chillenandy321 macrumors regular

    chillenandy321

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #7
    When is the new update coming? I have it on testflight beta just curious for public release. Thanks
     
  8. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #8
    I began noticing that the Pro VPN variant really slowed down my apps and internet, and despite having paid for it, I have currently disabled it. I expected blocking all of the ad services to speed up my phone, and not to slow it down. Odd.
     
  9. chillenandy321 macrumors regular

    chillenandy321

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #9
    Been using Pro version so long can't tell a difference in speed of apps and in safari. Its blocked all ads though
     
  10. ganja24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #10
    Agree!
     
  11. avatar-adg macrumors 6502

    avatar-adg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Location:
    Moscow
    #11
    Hey guys,

    we have finally released the new version!

    As I promised, the update is HUGE:
    https://github.com/AdguardTeam/AdguardForiOS/releases/tag/v1.2.0-pro

    I'd like to mention the most important ones:

    [Added] System-wide filtering
    @willmtaylor you no more need to use AG DNS. Use whichever DNS you want, system-wide filtering will block ads anyways.

    [Added] DNS settings
    Choose from a wide list of popular DNS providers or simply stick to the system default DNS.
     
  12. Akshayf macrumors member

    Akshayf

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    #12
    You forgot to mention the biggest update!! The SALE PRICE! Just bought it for 80₹. Sweet!
     
  13. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #13
    Update completely broke my internet. The VON toggle in my system settings was really wigging out too.

    I had to completely delete the app from my phone, restart, and then reinstall.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 12, 2017 ---
    Ads still get through on my university's wifi (E.g. In WeatherUnderground & Yahoo Weather).

    Unfortunately, this update didn't rectify this issue.
     
  14. avatar-adg macrumors 6502

    avatar-adg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Location:
    Moscow
    #14
    Hm, did you see the alert window asking to run the app right after the update?

    Due to the changes made to the app, we need you to run the app so that it could apply changes to the app database.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 12, 2017 ---
    That's unexpected:(

    Could you please collect logs for us?

    Here is an instruction:
    https://kb.adguard.com/en/ios/solving-problems/dns-requests-log

    I'll also need to know your customer ID (you'll receive it in the autoreply).
     
  15. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #15
    Which DNS settings should I be using?

    Here is my current setup:
    IMG_8652.PNG IMG_8653.PNG
     
  16. avatar-adg macrumors 6502

    avatar-adg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Location:
    Moscow
    #16
    Ads should've been blocked with any DNS, even with System Default.

    I've just realized that instruction is outdated, log is now located under the system-wide ad blocking.
     
  17. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #17
    Ok. I had already enabled it (I also noticed the instructions were now outdated). Bug report sent.

    Again, very odd that this ONLY happens when on university wifi--not at home wifi or when connected to cellular data.
     
  18. avatar-adg macrumors 6502

    avatar-adg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Location:
    Moscow
    #18
    Customer ID?

    Yeah:( Btw, could you please take a look at Wi-Fi settings and post it here (or to the support ticket)?
    --- Post Merged, Apr 12, 2017 ---
    Nevermind, found it!

    Filed a bug report:
    https://github.com/AdguardTeam/AdguardForiOS/issues/366
     
  19. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #19
    Thank you. Hopefully it can get resolved.
     
  20. avatar-adg macrumors 6502

    avatar-adg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Location:
    Moscow
    #20
    You know what's weird -- there are some DNS requests in the log, but there are no DNS responses received.

    In theory, this is possible if you have a proxy set in the Wi-Fi settings. Could you please check it?
     
  21. ganja24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
  22. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
  23. nightstalkerz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    #23
    @avatar-adg: I have some questions/feature requests:

    1. Are there any plans to remove the 'Simplified domain names filter' from the System-wide Ad Blocking and only base it on the blacklist/whitelist?
    There are over 13000 domains in there and in the previous version, I only blocked about 50-100 domains manually due to certain wifi networks/carriers intercepting DNS requests.

    2. Will DNSCrypt be implemented since AdGuard DNS supports this already?

    3. When adding a new domain to the System-wide Ad Blocking blacklist/whitelist, what format does it accept?
    Using the Log to add to white/black list, it adds something like a.domain.com but the online documentation says to use ||a.domain.com^.
     
  24. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #24
    Installed the latest AG pro for iOS update earlier today, and it has been blocking the 'in app ads' thus far. I am already running "Private Internet Access VPN. Haven't noticed any conflicts yet with (with PIA) 'Adguard Default Setting" enabled. I did notice that MLB at Bat streaming stopped several times today. Hasn't done that before. Will test a few more days and see if it is a temporary problem with the streaming source, AG pro / setting, PIA itself or a combination of both running at the same time etc.
     
  25. Akshayf macrumors member

    Akshayf

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    #25
    @avatar-adg just a quick question. Since system wide blocking is enabled , do i still need to enable the content blocker extension for safari? Would that in any case be counter productive??
     

Share This Page