Adium contact list question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by bobbyboulders, May 21, 2007.

  1. bobbyboulders macrumors regular

    bobbyboulders

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #1
    ok, so basically i want to be able to distinguish b/w aim, msn and gtalk within my adium contact list.

    Currently all contacts are appearing under the group 'buddies', except for my msn account contacts, which are appearing under their own groups (friends/family).

    Ideally i would like a group named 'aim' and a group named 'gtalk' (whatever) so i can clearly distinguish b/w the two....
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    You can create groups, by going to Contact->Add Group. You can move people to new groups by selecting their name in the buddy list and pressing Apple+I (Get Info) then assigning them to a different group
     
  3. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    I think he wants to have his already-made groups such as 'friends' and 'family' still in contact, so your method does not work...all I can think of is calling people e.g. AIM:Jenny, MSN:John and so on, so you know which account they're from...
     
  4. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #4
    Have you tried Adium> Contact> Add Group... ?

    Looks like this:

    Picture 3.png

    And make one that says AIM and one that says, whatever else, then just manually drag the contacts to the proper group?

    Maybe someone else will have an easier way. :eek:



    :edit: Way too slow. Stupid tabs. :eek:
     
  5. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #5
    Another alternative would be to make the group names something like: Friends/AIM, Friends/Gtalk, Friends/MSN...etc.
     
  6. bobbyboulders thread starter macrumors regular

    bobbyboulders

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #6
    Actually the contact>add group thing did work (Thanks guys..). Only drawback is, is that it's tedious work...ahh well at least its a solution
     
  7. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    Or you could make a custom List Layout with Service Icons turned on, so it shows next to each contact what service they're using.

    I use groups myself. Tedious? How many contacts do you have? :)
     
  8. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #8
    Gosh...I've had that turned off for so long I totally forgot about that as a possibility.
     
  9. bobbyboulders thread starter macrumors regular

    bobbyboulders

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #9
    quite alot...extemely tedious if you have to do them one by one...
     
  10. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #10
    Shift+click all the buddies you want to move at once, then :apple:+drag them into the group you want. That'll work a lot faster. :D
     
  11. bobbyboulders thread starter macrumors regular

    bobbyboulders

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #11
    awesome! thanks:D
     

Share This Page