Adium help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macornomac, Jul 3, 2007.

  1. macornomac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #1
    Ok here is a newbie question. I have my macbook for a fewdays now and I'm still trying to figure crap out. So I have adium on my macbook and when I boot up the comp Adium dmg shows up on the desktop. Now for me to start adium I click on that and then it opens up adium and other stuff. Then I have to click on the duck to get it started. After all that I have adium dmg on the desktop and also adium x 1.04. Now how do I get rid of these from the desktop??? I think I did it before by dragging to the trash but it erased everything and I had to download it again. Anyway I can get these off the desktop????? Thanks.
     
  2. Edandlindz28 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    When you open the DMG and see the duck, drag it over to your applications folder, then eject and delete the DMG. Thats all I did.
     
  3. keenkreations macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    #3
    Totally understand running the apps in DMG files. FIRST newbie mistake that I did when I first got a Mac, all those years ago. Just make sure to copy things over to applications. Sometimes running apps in the DMG files can get a little wonky.
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    hahahaha im sorry but i find this higly amuzing. only a few minutes ago did another n00b post the same problem with dmgs... ahwell its all schweet

    welcome to MR and welcome to macs!!!!!
     
  5. amitface macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    I did the same thing. I was pretty confused. That being said, I love dmgs. I love being able to open a program that I don't plan on using all the time straight from it.
     
  6. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #6
    ok don't make fun of the noob aka me haha. Alright so I tried to do that where I sent the dmg to the applications. I tried to delete it and it says can't remove with program in use. So must I shut it down first also what about that adium x icon can I just delete that outright
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    hahaha.... you dont send the dmg to applications, you send whats in it to applications!!!

    the reason it wont delete(eject) is because someting from the dmg is still open, most likely adium. so i suggest quitting adium if its open then trying to eject it again
     
  8. anirban macrumors 6502a

    anirban

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #8
    Hahah, this thread took me back two weeks... I was also pretty darn confused. I am used to installing stuff in windows, and expected mac applications to walk through loads of steps to install.... and despite the programs saying "Drag the Icon to Applications Folder", I still used to fool around and took over an hour to install firefox.....
     
  9. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #9
    ok cool got it to work now, I think. So now in applications I see 3 adiums. one just says adium with the duck which I think I can keep. The other is adium x 1.0.4 with a hard disk icon and the other is adium x 1.0.4 alias. Can I get rid of these two or must I keep them????? Thanks a lot.
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    get rid of the last 2, an alias is a shortcut like in xp. the harddrive is....the dmg file if im not mistaken.. not need those

    goodluck!
     
  11. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #11
    alright good to go now. Thanks all for the help.
     
  12. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #12
    that's what the darkside does to you, burn your brain cells, hopefully after running macs a few years, they'll grow up again :D
     
  13. Edandlindz28 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #13
    They should make a sticky for DMG on the guides. I don't think I saw one when I was looking. Newbies seem to not understand what the DMG is. I know it took me a quick minute and a phone call to the Bro.
     
  14. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
  15. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #15
    its a disk image, pretty much exactly the same as an iso
     
  16. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  17. Edandlindz28 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #17

Share This Page