Adium is pissing me off!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by sk3pt1c, Oct 5, 2007.

  1. sk3pt1c macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #1
    right, i'm not saying it sucks, Adium is a pretty cool alternative to messenger, and of course i'm trying to keep microsoft content on my mac as limited as possible, but i get this issue all the time.
    when i'm chatting, it tells me it can't send my messages (fortunately some of them) and i miss messages people send me, don't see them at all.
    so they have to paste their messages to me and hopefully that works and i get them all in one go.
    but it's really pissing me off because you can't really have a proper convo in this manner.
    i've got the latest version of Adium, dunno if that matters at all.
    any of you have the same problem, and is there a fix?
    i only use adium for msn by the way, no aim, yahoo or .mac accounts...
     
  2. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #2
    Just Download and use messenger. It's a good enough piece of software.

    On the other hand, you can try fixing Adium yourself, as it is open source http://trac.adiumx.com/browser.
     
  3. emotion macrumors 68040

    emotion

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    A more sensible approach would be to report the bugs to the people who develop it. After all, they know the code and you're unlikely to.
     
  4. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #4
    It does have a tendency to do that every now and again. Mind you, I've found it a lot more useable than Messenger, which sends even less messages and crashes randomly.
     
  5. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #5
    messenger sucks, i'd rather use aMSN
    Adium rocks and it's pretty lightweight too!
    i'll email the developers about it, thanks guys.

    oh and, BLEACH ROCKS! ;)
     
  6. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #6
    I've had this problem too, in my case though it will never send or receive any message, so I'm not using aMSN, which is still a pain as every now and then the tabs will freeze, forcing me to force quit the entire thing and reload it all...

    No messenger app is perfect...
     

Share This Page