Adium Unable to Connect to Yahoo Messenger

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by tolive, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. tolive macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    #1
    Not sure what's going on, but my Adium is unable to connect to Yahoo Messenger since 2-3 days ago, it's working fine in the past months, and I don't think I made any change recently. MSN is working fine though.

    Anybody got the same issue?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I started having this problem today under AdiumX. Meebo had it a few days ago.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
  4. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Yahoo changed how authentication to their servers works. The 1.4 nightly builds of Adium have been updated to be compatible, and hopefully we'll get a new 1.4 beta out soon. Backporting to 1.3.x may or may not happen, we're not sure yet.
     
  5. edinzMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for this explanation. I tried to find nightly builds, but could only find info on how to get the latest source. How can nightly builds be downloaded?

    Thanks again.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I enabled the downloading of Beta versions in the updating preferences in AdiumX.
     
  7. webnician macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    The Beach, NC
    #7
    Temporary Solution

    Disconnect Yahoo.

    Go under Preferences/Accounts/(your Yahoo account)/Options & change the server to 66.163.181.106.

    Connect Yahoo.


    In the future, you should probably change it back to the default and see if it works.
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Well that worked for me.
     
  9. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    Beta 7 is out now at beta.adium.im. Nightly builds, if people still want them, are available at nightly.adium.im.
     
  10. edinzMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #10
    Thanks webnician, and Catfish_Man.

    The new IP address works for now, but it's good to know where to get betas and nighties just in case.
     
  11. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #11
    Excellent info... I downloaded the Beta and it corrected things for me

    Thanks!

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  12. LtRammstein macrumors 6502a

    LtRammstein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #12
    FYI,

    Adium 1.4b7 is out and fixes issues with Yahoo!

    I recommend updating if you're still having issues with connection to Yahoo.
     
  13. CaptMurdock macrumors 6502a

    CaptMurdock

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    The Evildrome Boozerama
    #13
    That worked!

    I've downloaded the latest release of Adium, just in case.
     
  14. kemo macrumors 6502a

    kemo

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    /Users/kemo
    #14
    Worked for me as well, also had to update to latest beta and set default login server for yahoo... thanks!
     
  15. webnician macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    The Beach, NC
    #15
    UPDATE! They fixed it.



    With the recent update, Yahoo stops working again.

    Put the IP address BACK to scs.msg.yahoo.com to solve the problem.
     
  16. yousefb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #16
    still having problem with yahoo wont connect using 1.4b17 ????/
     

Share This Page