adium update says i dont have permission

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by greenbreadmmm, Jul 10, 2007.

  1. greenbreadmmm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #1
    when i try to install the update it says this

    update error
    Adium does not have permission to write to the application's directory! Are you running off a disk image? If not, ask your system administrator for help

    how can i fix this

    thanks
     
  2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    You need to have administrative privileges to write to the Applications directory typically.
     
  3. greenbreadmmm thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Chances are you trying to open the application from the mounted disk image. i.e. you have double clicked on the .dmg a window has appeared and you are trying the application from their.

    Simply drag the application out of that window to your applications folder and it should work fine.
     
  5. jrogers1126 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #5
    Same problem

    I have the same problem. Adium tells me that an update is available, and asks if I'd like to update, I think 'sure'!

    It downloads and then gives me this error. I didn't launch it from a mounted disk, Adium launched the installer. I have admin rights, and have even set the perms on the Applications folder to 777 (temporarilly)


    soo..... What's the deal? My guess is the installer is trying to write to a folder other than /Applications, and this error message is erroneous/inaccurate.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. LtRammstein macrumors 6502a

    LtRammstein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #6
  7. Karvel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #7
    I get the same problem! And I'm certainly not running it off the disk image, how insulting! :p
     
  8. Karvel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #8
    I've found a solution:

    In your Applications folder, right-click/control-click on Adium and choose Get Info.

    There will be a selection of disclosure-triangle headers (e.g. General, More Info, Name & Extension, Sharing etc.)

    Click the triangle next to Sharing & Permissions, if it is not already visible.

    It will show:

    xx (Me)
    admin
    everyone

    MAKE SURE "admin" is set to Read & Write, just like xx (Me) is.

    Sorted!

    edit: Nope, it doesn't work. Actual ffs.
     

Share This Page