admin account

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by adamcarvell, Jan 20, 2015.

1. adamcarvell macrumors regular

adamcarvell

hi i i am new to mac only recently as last week recieving a mac mini im not sure if i set it up right as it asks for a password to delete stuff and to move files from folder to folder is this normal behaviour ? im the administrator not the guest when signed. when set it up for the first time if i remember correctly i was asked if i would like a password to be set at login so i said yes ?.

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

Yep.... sounds like you have it correctly setup and that is totally normal.

3. adamcarvell thread starter macrumors regular

adamcarvell

well went get info on each of the folders on external hard drive are read only so changed that to read and write also system drive was read only changed that also no longer get pop ups for password to delete or authentification password to move folders . have i done the right thing with the system drive giving myself permission to read write ? I'm the only one who uses it btw.

4. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

You should change those settings back and not mess with them. It is setup the way it is for system security to prevent rogue apps and malware etc from installing itself without you knowing it.

5. adamcarvell thread starter macrumors regular

adamcarvell

You mean on the system drive ?. Back to read only ?.

6. adamcarvell thread starter macrumors regular

adamcarvell

Well i put the system back for read only clicked apply before handbrake was finished and that wont run at all now .wont let me re install it again as i dont have enough space ive knackered somthing up what do i do now ?.

7. adamcarvell thread starter macrumors regular

adamcarvell

Had to change permissions back on the system to allow me read and write again reinstall handbrake finish what was in the queue.
    How do i know if it will now be ok please ?.