Admin accout problems

Discussion in 'macOS' started by LHOOQ, May 30, 2010.

  1. LHOOQ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    #1
    OS 10.4.11 on a mid-2005 iBook G4

    I'm having problems installing programs because they don't accept my admin password when they ask for confirmation. The installers either shut down or tell me I need an administrator password. I only ever use my primary account, and it's designated as Admin in the Accounts section of System Preferences. Software Update accepts my password to install updates with no problem. I've tried starting up from the CD and resetting my password, but that hasn't helped either.

    This seems to have been going on for a while, when I couldn't get OnyX to accept my password, but I thought it was isolated because I hadn't tried to install any software. I can't think of any changes I made that might have caused this, but it's been a couple of months. Now I have a few programs to install, and I don't know how to proceed. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #2

    Have you try repairing disk permissions?
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    what a very odd issue!

    you are certain that the password is correct?

    i would try this
    1. boot from OSX installer DVD and repair permissions using "Disk Utility"
    2. if that doesnt work, from the OSX installer DVD you can reset the "master" admin password - worth a try.

    let us know how it goes :)
     
  4. LHOOQ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    #4
    Unfortunately, I have tried both of those already, with no luck. OSX still recognizes me, as I was able to create a new, separate admin account. No luck with that one either.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    archive and reinstall maybe? worth a shot. totally clueless hmmm
     
  6. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #6
    Have you ever migrated your account? I asked because of this.


    Update: Did you ever check to make sure the username is the same? http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2558
     
  7. LHOOQ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    #7
    I checked out those links, but still no luck. I have not migrated and the username seems to be fine.

    I also tried booting in safe mode and then trying, but that didn't help either. :(

    Anyone have any other ideas??
     
  8. Hal Itosis macrumors 6502a

    Hal Itosis

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    #8
    I don't see the part where you answer the question asked in post #2.
     
  9. LHOOQ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    #9
    Sorry if that wasn't clear. I answered in my response to #3, which offered the same solution. Anyway, I tried it 2 or 3 times without the CD and 2 or 3 times with the OSX CD and it didn't change anything that I could tell.
     
  10. Hal Itosis macrumors 6502a

    Hal Itosis

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    #10
    So then, Disk Utility doesn't report finding or fixing anything?
    The procedure simply completes and says all is well or what?

    idunno... Tiger is seriously long in the tooth at this point.
    Are these new wares you're trying to install now still compatible with 10.4.11?

    Care to name them? OnyX yes... but which version? And what else?
     
  11. graley macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    admin pword

    Using the original system disk always works to set up an admin pword.

    Start up from it while holding down the C key.

    Start to install the system but go no further than select language.

    In menu bar see utility.

    In there is reset pword.

    You do not need the original pword.
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    if you read the thread - the OP has already tried that method, to no avail.

    reinstall i reckon :(
     

Share This Page