"Administrator" Password to login to XP for the first time?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by vilasgn, Oct 21, 2008.

  1. vilasgn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #1
    Hi all -

    On Monday I got my first Mac computer Macbook.

    Today I downloaded VMWARE Fusion trial software to install the XP Pro on my Mac.

    I went through all the steps on fusion and created the VM.

    When I was asked about the password for the Administrator User I left it blank. Anyway it was optional.

    Another point to specify here, not sure if matters, but when I started the VM, I clicked on the "Start as guest" arrow in the VM window.

    After the all the installation process happened and I got the XP Login screen with the username "Administrator" and password field.

    Since I had left the password blank, I just pressed enter but login did not happen as XP said the password was wrong.

    Either I am missing something or I am not sure whether there is anything wrong with VMWare.

    Can someone please help me here? Do I have to give XP Administrator password during the installation?

    Just to mention here, I am very sure I had left the administrator password blank.

    Please help as I cannot login to XP.

    Do I have to delete this VM and create a new one with admin password?

    Does that mean the XP files will be installed twice on my Mac HD?

    I am new to Mac as well as to VM so please help.
     
  2. mispolyc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #2
    Windows admin password

    Hmm. Which version of windows are you using? (windows xp pro, windows xp home ect,) Because depending on what version of windows you are using, you can start up using safe mode and access the administrator account without a password.
     
  3. InfoTime macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #3
    If it's XP Home, like mentioned above, then you can probably get in with Safe Mode and make the change. However, since the account is named Administrator and there was a password prompt during installation it is like XP Professional.

    To change the password you could try a boot disk. On a real PC you'd boot a CD that has a password changing tool. One I've used on Vista can be found here: http://home.eunet.no/pnordahl/ntpasswd/bootdisk.html It should work fine for XP as well.

    It's a very small .iso file. You'd set Fusion to boot from that "CD" (the .iso file).
     
  4. vilasgn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #4
    Thanks everyone for the response.

    I had already mentioned that the OS was XP Pro.

    Anyway, after some thinking, I deleted my Virtual Machine (VM) and recreated a new VM with administrator password.

    Now everything is fine. Anyway, it was a fresh install so I had to spend additional 45 mins to install XP one more time.
     
  5. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #5
    Just for reference, you can't log into windows as administrator if you using xp home - unless you hack the registry. Xp Pro you can.

    You can log in as administrator in both versions when booted to safe mode.

    Vista - the administrator account is disabled. Thats why you have those annoying popups wanting you to confirm everything before you run.
     

Share This Page