Admin's name and PW won't recognize

jar703

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 5, 2008
4
0
Hi, I'm having trouble installing my office mac software... It won't recognize my admins name and pw. I'm pretty sure I typed down my password right but not sure about my admins name. How can I find out my admins name? is it the same as my user home name? I've been trying to figure out what the problem is all day today.. PLEASE I NEED HELP!!
Thanks
 

McGiord

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2003
4,522
286
Dark Castle
Go to your System Preferences, under the System section there is the Accounts (2 persons bust icon), and there you will se all the users and their privileges, as well to create/modify the existing ones.
________
Toyota TownAce specifications
 
Last edited:

jar703

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 5, 2008
4
0
Hey, yes that's what i thought.. I typed my acct name as the admin name but that didn't work..
 

jrrjbl

macrumors newbie
Jan 15, 2008
29
0
Pa
Went through same issue yesterday. 1 1/2 hours with tech support. Solution was to load disk one of Leopard and Don't use your user name in admin. It required "System Administrator" plus password. Once we figured it out, did wife's computer in 7 mins.
If you search Apple's site for password problems this solutions in detail shows up.
Good luck

PS; http://www.apple.com/support/leopard/accounts/ link to help you
 

jar703

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 5, 2008
4
0
Hey, I tried downloading new softwares but it always ask for the admin name and pw.. Can you give me the # for tech support? I just got this macbook brand new from bestbuy and I can't even use it because the main reason I bought it is for me to use office mac for school.
Thanks for the replies!
 

jar703

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 5, 2008
4
0
Hey, I went to apple store today and they fixed my problem. It turned out that I didn't set up my name as the administrator of the comp. it was set up as standard.. That was the reason why it didn't recognize my ad name and pw.
Thanks for the help!!:)
 

offtheroad

macrumors regular
Jun 14, 2007
183
1
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Hey, I went to apple store today and they fixed my problem. It turned out that I didn't set up my name as the administrator of the comp. it was set up as standard.. That was the reason why it didn't recognize my ad name and pw.
Thanks for the help!!:)
Same here so how did you fix it from standard? Did you need to go thru a complete reinstall?
 

Weaselboy

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
29,179
8,829
California
Same here so how did you fix it from standard? Did you need to go thru a complete reinstall?
Just follow this guide to create a new admin account (just call it temp or whatever). Then login to the temp admin account and from within that account go to User & Groups and give your old standard account admin rights.

Now reboot into your old account as admin. Then go back to User & Groups and remove the temp account.