Adobe Camera Raw - Lightroom instead of Photoshop?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Stephen23, Mar 7, 2011.

1. Stephen23 macrumors member

Stephen23

Hello everyone,

I have a technical question about Adobe Camera Raw. I recently purchased a Nikon D7000, and discovered, annoyingly, that my Adobe CS4 Design Premium package could not open the RAW files from the new camera. A bit of research told me that they have released an update to ACR that will read D7000 files, but it only works with Adobe CS5 - not my version.

Which basically means Adobe is screwing me over in order to force me to update. I was leaning towards updating before, but this kind of thing makes me mad, and now I'm considering how I can avoid ever giving any money to Adobe again.

But in the meantime, I'm a working photographer who needs to be able to work with RAW images from my new camera. One option is to just upgrade Photoshop instead of my entire Design package. That would cost $200 vs $600, which isn't too horrible. But then I thought about it, and I think that the new version of ACR should also come with Lightroom 3, which would only be a $100 upgrade for me.

The question is, if I got the newest version of Camera Raw via Lightroom, then how is it going to interact with my CS4 version of Photoshop?

My normal workflow has pretty much eliminated Lightroom these days... so if it's a choice between the two upgrades based on which product I use more, then it's Photoshop hands down, but at the same time Photoshop CS4 does everything I need, so if I can open RAW images in ACR and then bounce to Photoshop for $100 instead of $200, then it makes me happy not rewarding Adobe for bad behavior.

Unfortunately, I'm not in a position to give up Photoshop entirely, so while other options and opinions are welcome, note that at least for now, I do have to choose one from this small list of options.