Adobe CC for Sierra

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by zoran, May 18, 2017.

  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Is anyone working with Adobe CC in Sierra? What version are you running and have you encountered any problems?
     
  2. mollyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    #2
    I use photoshop and Lightroom with no issues. I have whatever the most recent versions are.
     
  3. dwig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    Key West FL
    #3
    I run CC (Ps, Id, Ai, Lr, & Br primarily) on a 27" Retina iMac and have encountered only three issues
    1. Adobe's utterly horrid cursor display in Ps. Some cursors (e.g. Stamp tool, ...) are all but invisible at times due to poor management of the cursor's color as it moves across areas of varying hue and/or density.
    2. Total failure to run reliably when switching between multiple users. The CC licensing engine can't handle the situation. I've not personally run CC on Windows with their equivalent Fast User Switching but understand from Adobe's workarounds for the issue (reinstall an app or dig into normally avoided folders and manually reset the permissions) that the same issue is present on Win.
    3. Finder in Sierra is much poorer than some earlier OS releases when it comes to rendering thumbnails and previews. Preview rendering is now not interruptible which makes scrolling through a large folder of large PSD and PSB files (many of ours are well over 1gb with some in the 10-15gb range) slow and annoying as Finder hangs periodically while it works on rendering a thumbnail or preview. In this respect, OSx 10.6.8 was vastly superior on an old PowerMac accessing USB2 drives than Sierra on the newest iMac accessing USB3 drives. I've been forced to split our image file folder tree into a larger number of sub-folders. If I keep less than ~400 files in each folder this ugly dragon raises its head less often.
    #1, above, is likely only an issue on high-DPI (e.g. Retina, etc) displays and #2 can be avoided by disabling the ability to switch users from the Menu Bar, though this forces you to quit all apps and log out before you can login as another user. There are multiple users on the workstation that I manage. Disabling the easy user switching is a pain when I have to alter other user's config, but that is not something I do on a regular basis. Normally, each user is the sole user for any one day.
     
  4. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
  5. jtara macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #5
    What version? It's "cloud based". The latest, whatever that is.

    It works well. I just use Illustrator. It has a lot of nice improvements, including making all of your iOS and Android bitmaps icons and splashscreens from your vector artwork in one go.
     
  6. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #6
    Now that is something i was not aware of!
     
  7. citizenzen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #7
    I've had some crashing issues with Photoshop 2017.

    So I reinstalled Photoshop 2015 do most of my work there.
     
  8. dazzer21-2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    #8
    I have a 5K Retina - and this is a major gripe for me. The times I've had to viciously shake the mouse to find out where my cursor are too many...
     
  9. dwig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    Key West FL
    #9
    Personally, I dislike the "shake the cursor to get a temporarily massive cursor" feature in Sierra, so I disable it.

    My trick to finding the invisible Ps cursor is to press the Space bar. That is the temporary switch to the Hand tool and its nice visible cursor until the Space bar is released.
     
  10. jdmage_mx5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    #10
    Im running the latest updates with CC on a 13" touchbar MBP. On my first install I had tons of crashing issues and the apps would never load. I had Adobe support remoted in for about an hour and finally got it fixed. It took a complete uninstall, reinstall, and playing with tons of permissions. Now that it is installed and opening correctly I have not had any issues with Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign, and Acrobat.
     
  11. agentx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #11
    Wow takes a brave man to let those incompetent fools onto your computer !
    And i concur the CC licensing engine is a bag of hurt and their bloated installers mess up permissions and do the strangest off things.
     
  12. MacGizmo macrumors 6502a

    MacGizmo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona
    #12
    Sierra & latest CC runs perfectly on my older 2013 pre-retina iMac as well as my 2015 5K iMac. Both have 32GB RAM and the upgraded video card.
     
  13. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #13
    I'm still using Creative Suite 6 with no problems.
    Some visual glitches when switching Desktop screens, and Dreamweaver spams the logs unless you adjust a settings file.
     

Share This Page