Adobe Creative Cloud & Yosetime

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by serenityNOW, Jun 3, 2014.

  1. serenityNOW macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    #1
    Hi all,

    Has anyone tried to install and work with Adobe CC applications? Are they running? Just curious - I have a spare CC "license" but I don't want to waste an evening hacking 10.10 to get them to work.

    Thanks!
     
  2. serenityNOW thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    #3
    Sven11:

    Thanks. I'll install them tonight and I'll post any bugs. ;)

    J.
     
  3. PerfectGreg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    Near Paris, France
    #4
    I have issues with After Effect CC, can't launch, but seems the other apps are doing fine.
     
  4. bobbydaz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    They don't work, Creative Cloud app will not install. There is a suggested work around but it doesn't work for everyone.
     
  5. PerfectGreg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    Near Paris, France
    #6
    After Effect CC 2014 is working for me for DP3... Much better !
     
  6. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #7
    It works fine. If you haven't agreed to the new Creative Cloud terms yet, you'll get a blank page in the Creative Cloud app. You can agree to the terms on the web and it fixes the issue. The CC app and installer work. The only apps I have a license for are Photoshop, Lightroom, and Illustrator, and all work just fine in all 3 DPs of 10.10.
     
  7. Kelmon macrumors 6502a

    Kelmon

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    Feedback on this matter appears to be mixed. I'm definitely seeing reports that Creative Cloud works for some users of the various Yosemite betas but I'm falling into the camp of "it doesn't work for me". I can download and install the Creative Cloud application but when it is run all I am getting is an empty window with the blue spinning progress widget. I've been able to switch the application into windowed mode so that I can monitor progress when I switch application but nothing seems to be happening. I've tried a few of the suggested fixes that I've read but so far I'm not seeing much progress. This is a touch annoying but then this is also what beta testing is all about. At this stage it looks as though anything I want to do with Lightroom/Photoshop will be best served by rebooting back into Mavericks, which is fine.

    I'll send the obligatory bug report to Apple. Adobe themselves appear to be aware of the issue and are taking the position that Yosemite is not officially supported yet but them. I'll have another punt at this again in the future but right now I don't think it is worth fighting it.
     
  8. AlanShutko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #9
    FWIW, I had the same problem with the CC sync app spinning on DP3-4. After a reformat and clean install, I currently have the CC sync app working. I don't know whether it will keep working.

    I suspect there is something wonky in the Adobe CEF Helper which it uses to display web content, but I wasn't able to figure out what is causing it. I'm pretty certain it is not the Java issue mentioned in the Adobe forums, because I don't have Java installed at all here. Unless, maybe, that's the problem, and it will break when I install it?
     
  9. Kelmon macrumors 6502a

    Kelmon

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    To a degree, I withdraw my earlier comment. Before submitting my bug report to Apple I figured I probably ought to try rebooting just to confirm that I could continually reproduce the problem. What do you know? The reboot seems to have, at least in part, done the trick. I have been able to sign into my Creative Cloud account and Photoshop CC 2014 is currently downloading. What is odd is that it thinks that Lightroom is already installed. I can only think that this is happening because it can see the Lightroom files on the main HD where Mavericks is installed. This said, I do wonder why it thinks that Lightroom is installed but Photoshop is not since both are installed on the Mavericks disk. Weird...
     
  10. TheGraphicMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    In a house
    #11
    ID, PS, AI, Acrobat & Bridge all working perfectly for me, as is the CC menubar app (mostly - it never worked right to begin with).

    Some folks are reporting that you have to update Java in order to get CC apps to work, but I didn't. I don't ever recall installing Java to begin with.
     
  11. michaellawson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #12
    I downloaded it today for a photoshop trial and once installed it just would not load at all.
     
  12. tliede20 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13

    I'm having that same problem, but I've restarted and nothing and when I download from the site it says download failed, retry..... >.< Sigh was hoping to play around with the it on yosemite.
     
  13. GadgetComa, Jul 29, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2014

    GadgetComa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #14
    I had problems installing CC on a clean install of Yosemite (public beta). I found a tip on the Adobe forums suggesting to install the trial versions of the individual apps. That worked for me with Photoshop, Bridge, and Lightroom. Once installed, I logged in with my Adobe ID and they were fully operational (I subscribe to the photography version). I haven't tried to install the CC app itself. I may try again with the suggestion about authenticating on the web.

    Once installed, the apps appear to work fine.

    UPDATE: I just went back to install the main CC app. I couldn't find a download for on the trial page, so I started the download of a trial version of an app I didn't have. The CC app installed and is running fine.
     
  14. Brocksley macrumors member

    Brocksley

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Utah
    #15
    I couldn't get CC to load to download them. Did some googling and found someone on the adobe forums suggesting to try and install the latest JRE and JDK beta at https://jdk8.java.net/download.html

    I downloaded those and then everything worked fine for me. I use illustrator and photoshop.
     
  15. thomaskyhn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #16
    Lightroom's Map module is incredibly slow on Yosemite.
     
  16. SW1TCH3D macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    #17
    Anyone who tested the Creative Cloud apps on Yosemite after the latest update? (And especially Premiere and After Effects...)
     
  17. iHateMacs macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #18
    I updated Photoshop CC last night after updating to Yosemite.

    Everything is working fine.
     
  18. SW1TCH3D macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    #19
    That's good news. Do you use Premiere as well?
     

Share This Page